Image: Supplied

Jack White Releases New Single; Two New Albums Coming in 2022

Jack White has shared the stripped-back new single, ‘Love Is Selfish’.

White is set to release two new solo albums in 2022. The first, Fear of the Dawn, is due out on Friday, 8th April; the follow-up, Entering Heaven Alive, will arrive just three months later on Friday, 22nd July.

White got the ball rolling with the release of ‘Taking Me Back‘ in October 2021. ‘Taking Me Back’ will appear on Fear of the Dawn, while ‘Love Is Selfish’ is the first taste of Entering Heaven Alive.

‘Taking Me Back’ premiered in the trailer for Call of Duty: Vanguard and footage from the game was used in the song’s official lyric video. White premiered the official ‘Taking Me Back’ music video in November 2021, in conjunction with the announcement of Fear of the Dawn.

The stripped-back musicality of ‘Love Is Selfish‘ is a contrast to the power-pop bombast of ‘Taking Me Back’. The new track is somewhat akin to The White Stripes’ ‘We’re Going to Be Friends’ and ‘You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket’.

In the official ‘Love Is Selfish’ music video, White sits on-stage alone, wearing a classic Nashville pearl-snap shirt and finger-picking a vintage Gibson acoustic. Watch the video here.

Fear of the Dawn will be White’s first solo album since 2018’s Boarding House Reach. This April marks the tenth anniversary of White’s debut solo album, Blunderbuss.

Must Read