Leo Sayer Assembles All-Star Cast For Anti-Fracking Song

British expat to Australia and disco hit-maker Leo Sayer has assembled an all-star Australian cast, including such names as Doc Neeson of The Angels, Steve Balbi of Noiseworks, Deni Hines, Jeff Duff, and Mark Gable of Choirboys, to protest the Australian government’s fracking policy.

Together they’ve recorded a pub rock-style protest anthem titled No Fracking Way, featuring contributions from Casey Burgess, Mitch Anderson, Connor Cleary, Alex Gibson, Graham Wilson, and Jarmb-Jo Githabul. Speaking to about the new project, Sayer said:

“This is a song I wrote and recorded this year to support an organisation [called] ‘Lock The Gate,’ who work in opposition to the practice of coal seam gas mining, or ‘fracking.’”

“I don’t know if you have heard about this, but the damage it’s causing to the landscape, environment, wildlife, livestock, flora, and fauna, and indeed humans, is highly evident here in Australia and all around the world.

“So, I’ve joined with a bunch of like minded fellow Aussies here who are determined to stop this.”

“We are ‘Aussies Against Fracking’, and several of them are joining me on this video of the song,” Sayer adds. “I’m sure you’ll recognise many of them. The video was filmed and edited by Craig ‘Chappo’ Chapman, sound mixed by John Hudson, and produced by Annie Wright.”

Sayer “wrote, arranged, performed and produced” the song himself, with additional guitar input from Paul Berton. The process of coal seam gas mining has been a contentious issue for many, particularly in the United States, with opinion divided on the benefits and risks of the practice.


Watch: Leo Sayer with Aussies Against Fracking – No Fracking Way

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more