Leonard Cohen Announces 14th Album ‘You Want It Darker’

82 year-old musician Leonard Cohen has announced the release of his 14th studio album You Want It Darker.

Cohen’s team took to Facebook to announce the news saying those who have heard it have called it “a masterpiece” and “classic Cohen”.

The album has been given a ballpark release date of “Fall” which will mean Spring here in Australia but we’ve been gifted the album artwork and the tracklist. It will feature nine songs, including the title track which was previewed on the third season of Peaky Blinders.

It’s Cohen’s first record since 2014’s Popular Problems which collected Canada’s Juno Award for Album Of The Year.

The album announcement comes just days after Cohen penned a beautiful heartfelt letter to Marianne Ihlen, the inspiration for his track So Long, Marianne, who passed away at the end of July.

Check out the letter as well as the tracklist and artwork for the forthcoming You Want It Darker (via AV Club).

Watch: Leonard Cohen – You Want In Darker (Snippet from Peaky Blinders)

You Want It Darker Album Artwork:


You Want It Darker Tracklist:

1. You Want It Darker

2. Treaty

3. On The Level

4. Leaving The Table

5. If I Didn’t Have Your Love

6. Traveling Light

7. It Seemed The Better Way

8. Steer Your Way

9. String Reprise/Treaty

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more