Listen To The Creepy First Song Off Ghost’s New Album ‘Meliora’

Hail satan! The Ghost clergy have just unleashed the first song off their new album Meliora. It’s a heavy chuggin’ slow burner called Cirice and it sounds dark as the devil’s balls.

Our first taste of Ghost’s third LP, which features vocals by their new (original) frontman, Papa Emeritus III, is a dark and ominous cut that builds in intensity as it progresses.

The metal ecclesiastics are tipped to release the follow-up to to 2013’s Infestissumam in the late Aussie winter or early Aussie spring, which means the release is mere months away.

The disc was reportedly helmed by Klas Åhlund, a prolific songwriter, producer and guitarist from fellow Swedish rock band Teddybears, whose CV surprisingly includes artists such as Robyn, Katy Perry, Kesha, Britney Spears and Madonna.

Ghost are scheduled to debut some of their new material at this year’s Sweden Rock Festival on June 4th, which will also serve as their live debut with “new” singer Papa Emeritus III, the apparent younger brother of their old singer, Papa Emeritus II.

The veteran outfit first outlined plans to fire their sophomore frontman last year, with one Nameless Ghoul reporting, “Number II is a real asshole so we’re looking for someone with a different approach to things. He still has to be an entertainer, but we’re narrowing down the contenders.”

However, it’s widely believed that the masked Papa Emeritus III is, like, totally the same guy as I and II just with a Roman numeral facelift.

Ghost were last in Australia for the 2014 Big Day Out.

Listen: Ghost: Cirice

Watch: Ghost – If You Have Ghosts (Live At Music Feeds Studio)

Gallery: Ghost @ Big Day Out 2014, Melbourne / Photos: Anwar Rizk

[MESSAGE FROM THE CLERGY]We wish to inform you that you can stream and download “Cirice,” the first track to surface from ‘Meliora'. by David Brinley

Posted by Ghost on Sunday, May 31, 2015

Meliora Track Listing

1. Spirit

2. From the Pinnacle to the Pit

3. Cirice

4. Spoksonat

5. He Is

6. Mummy Dust

7. Majesty

8. Devil Church

9. Absolution

10. Deus in Absentia

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more