Image: Midnight Oil (Supplied)

Midnight Oil Release New Album ‘Resist’ Ahead Of Final Tour

Midnight Oil have released their first conventional album in 20 years. It’s called Resist and it includes the singles ‘Rising Seas’, ‘Tarkine’ and ‘At the Time Of Writing’. The album release is accompanied by a new music video for the album track ‘We Resist’. Find that below.

Resist is Midnight Oil’s 13th studio LP. It follows 2020’s collaborative album, The Makarrata Project, which featured contributions from First Nations artists Jessica Mauboy, Tasman Keith, Troy Cassar-Daley and Alice Skye.

Resist includes the final recordings made with long time Midnight Oil bass player and backing vocalist, Bones Hillman, who passed away in November 2020. Hillman played on every Midnight Oil album dating back to 1990’s Blue Sky Mining. As ever, songwriting duties were split between drummer Rob Hirst, guitarist Jim Moginie and singer Peter Garrett.

It’s nearly 50 years since Midnight Oil formed in Canberra (under the name Farm), but the members’ social conscience hasn’t withered. The album lyrics reflect with some urgency on ecological collapse and the climate crisis, and what can be done to counter these immense, human-made challenges.

Midnight Oil will launch their final ever Australian tour next week. The tour includes four A Day On the Green events – in Orange, Geelong, Rutherglen and Swan Valley – and a headline slot at Bluesfest.

The Oils’ arena run begins at the Newcastle Entertainment Centre on Wednesday, 23rd February, before continuing on to metro and regional locations across NSW, VIC, WA, SA, NT, QLD and the ACT, before wrapping up at Sydney’s Qudos Bank Arena on Thursday 21st April. Check out all the tour dates and support acts here.

Must Read