Mogwai Unveil Details For New Album ‘Rave Tapes’

Glasweigan post-rockers Mogwai are back, today announcing that they’ll be dropping their eighth full-length studio album in 2014, the curiously titled Rave Tapes, as well as revealing both the cover artwork and a tracklisting for the album, plus unveiling a new track, Remurdered.

Rave Tapes seems to continue Mogwai’s interesting trend of naming their albums after a genre of music they don’t actually make, following on from 2011’s Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will. The Scottish five-piece recorded the new album at Castle Of Doom studios in Glasgow, featuring production work by Paul Savage, who was also behind their 1997 gem Young Team.

Readers can check out “not the video,” as Mogwai’s label Sub Pop are calling it, for Remurdered as well as a stream for the track, below. Remurdered is an epic, synth-laiden six-minute affair that gives you all the spooky, slow-building goodness you’d expect from Mogwai.

Rave Tapes is out Monday, 20th January, 2014 in Australia via Spunk Records.

Watch: Mogwai – Remurdered

Listen: Mogwai – Remurdered

Cover: Mogwai – Rave Tapes


Mogwai – Rave Tapes

1. Heard About You Last Night

2. Simon Ferocious

3. Remurdered

4. Hexon Bogon

5. Repelish

6. Master Card

7. Deesh

8. Blues Hour

9. No Medicine For Regret

10. The Lord Is Out Of Control

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more