Neil Finn Announces Third Solo Album ‘Dizzy Heights’, Releases New Track ‘Divebomber’

Neil Finn will be kicking off next year in spectacular style, announcing his brand new album Dizzy Heights set for release at the pointy end of 2014, Friday, 7th February, and we’ve already got our first taste by way of a short film for album track Divebomber.

While most of us were smashing through our morning routine, Finn had set up shop in his Auckland studio where he performed an exclusive live webcast where not only did he perform 3 of the brand-new never-before-heard tracks from the Dizzy Heights, but also tackled fan questions for a live Q&A session. You’ll be able to catch the recorded version of the webcast on Finn’s incredibly snazzy website.

The Dave Fridmann (Mercury Rev, The Flaming Lips, Tame Impala) co-produced record had Finn bolting between his own Roundhead Studio in Auckland and Fridmann’s Tarbox Studio in upstate New York. No stone was left unturned in Finn’s endeavour to follow up his previous solo album, 2001’s One Nil.

Says Finn of the new record:

“I didn’t want to make it a solo record in a stripped back singer-songwriter sort of way… I had a feeling Dave would be good at adding some odd shapes to the music. Which I always welcome – making things a little more expansive. He is good at subverting things, and making things sound a bit messed up and not as obvious, rather than being too tasteful, which is always a temptation.”

Our first experience of that subversion comes by way of the Finn-produced short film Divebomber. Inspired by the classic World War II movie of the same name, the video features the album track synced with grainy footage of children jumping into the sea in Greece and scenes from a plane. You can check out the film, along with the track listing for Dizzy Heights, below.

Watch: Neil Finn – Divebomber

‘Dizzy Heights’ track listing:
1. Impressions
2. Dizzy Heights
3. Flying In The Face of Love
4. Divebomber
5. Better Than TV
6. Pony Ride
7. White Lies and Alibis
8. Recluse
9. Strangest Friends
10. In My Blood
11. Lights of New York

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more