New Linkin Park Album To Feature System Of A Down, Helmet Members

Linkin Park‘s forthcoming sixth studio album will feature guest appearances from System Of A Down guitarist Daron Malakian and Helmet frontman Paige Hamilton, with both musicians confirmed to be appearing on at least one track each on the album.

American ABC News Radio have reported that Linkin Park vocalist Mike Shinoda unveiled five songs from the band’s new album at a small gathering of industry professionals in New York City on Friday, 4th April.

Shinoda explained that he and his bandmates have become slightly disillusioned by the pop leanings of some contemporary alternative music, and that they hope to return with a harder, more experimental edge. Linkin Park’s next album, reportedly titled The Hunting Party, follows the band’s 2012 album Living Things.

Speaking of how the anti-pop mindset is reflected in the new album’s first single Guilty All the Same, which features hip-hop legend Rakim, Shinoda said, “It just felt like the right introduction to the record, which is kind of a shocking one.” In terms of overall tone, Shinoda posited that the song “sits in the middle [of all the songs on the album]”.

Shinoda also said the band is still busy tweaking the mixes on many of the songs from the album. He told reporters that fans can expect the album to be released “some time in the middle of the [American] summer”, suggesting earlier reports of a June/July release date may be accurate.

Listen: Linkin Park – Guilty All The Same (feat. Rakim)

Watch: Behind the Scenes of Linkin Park’s Guilty All The Same (feat. Rakim)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more