Phoenix Details Australian Release For New Album ‘Bankrupt!’

Phoenix have announced the release date for the Australian edition of their forthcoming record Bankrupt!, their first studio album in 4 years.

Along with the track list for the album, we now know that Bankrupt! will be released in Australia on Friday, 19th April, a few days before the rest of the world hears it starting Monday, 22nd April.

So far from the album, we’ve been treated to lead single Entertainment (video below), a catchy indie rock number dressed in shiny synths, picking up where Phoenix last left off.

Guitarist Laurent ‘Branco’ Brancowitz has described Bankrupt! as an album of greater depth than previous Phoenix releases:

“This album has more layers. The more you listen, the more you hear, and the more you really understand what’s going on. At the same time, we wanted it to be really fluid and simple like a sphere made of marble. You just see a sphere, but there’s a guy who polished it for a year.”

The follow-up to 2009’s Grammy Award-winning Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix, the French quartet have lofty expectations to live up to with Bankrupt!.

Phoenix – Bankrupt! – Track List

1. Entertainment

2. The Real Thing

3. S.O.S. In Bel Air

4. Trying To Be Cool

5. Bankrupt!

6. Drakkar Noir

7. Chloroform

8. Don’t

9. Bourgeois

10. Oblique City

Watch: Phoenix – Entertainment

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more