Prince To Release Two New Albums This Year

It’s been nearly five years since we’ve last seen a record from the Purple One, but that is about to change with Prince‘s announcement of the upcoming release of not one but two full-length albums this year. Plectrumelectrum, his long-teased album with the group 3rdEyeGirl, and his recently announced solo LP, Art Official Age, are both due to drop late September.

Prince had already been teasing details of his forthcoming Plectrumelectrum album with 3rdEyeGirl since January this year. The record will see the singer fronting the all-female funk rock group. Prince and the band have already previewed a number of the record’s songs on their recent Hit and Run tours.

The artist also revealed that an entirely separate solo LP, Art Official Age, will also arrive this September. The 13-track record is an entirely Prince affair and was produced, arranged, composed and performed by the musician. It features the previously released tracks Breakdown and Breakfast Can Wait as well some typically psychedelic artwork.

The two records will also mark Prince’s return to the Warner Bros. label for the first time in 18 years. Prince split from the label in 1996 amid controversy, after wearing the word “slave” on his face and changing his name to a symbol in protest over his record contract.

His return to the label sees him regain ownership of his extensive catalogue and comes just in time for the 30th anniversary of Prince’s groundbreaking album Purple Rain, which debuted in 1984. See the artwork and tracklist for both new records below.

Watch: Prince – Breakfast Can Wait

Art Official Age Tracklist

1. Art Official Cage

2. Clouds

3. Breakdown

4. The Gold Standard

5. U Know

6. Breakfast Can Wait

7. This Could Be Us

8. What It Feels Like

9. Affirmation I & II

10. Way Back Home

11. Funknroll

12. Time

13. Affirmation III

prince artwork

Plectrumelectrum Tracklist

1. Wow

2. Pretzelbodylogic

3. Aintturninround

4. Plectrumelectrum

5. Whitecaps

6. Fixurlifeup

7. Boytrouble

8. Stopthistrain

9. Anotherlove

10. Tictactoe

11. Marz

12. Funknroll


Latest on Music Feeds

Load more