‘Redfern Now’ Composers Win At Screen Music Awards, Speak Against ABC Budget Cuts

Brisbane alt-rocker and Custard frontman David McCormack and composer Antony Partos took away two gongs at last night’s Screen Music Awards for their work on ABC hit series, Redfern Now.

The pair won the award for Best Music for a Television Series for Episode 4: Stand Up and were also victorious in the category of Best Original Song Composed for the Screen for their track Lonely Child, featured in the same show.

Upon accepting the award, Partos addressed members of the audience, largely filled with industry heavy-weights, calling on them to fight back against proposed budget cuts to the ABC and advocated for the importance of Australian media content rules.

“I believe it’s not enough to simply grumble to ourselves about our plight. We need to lobby our MPs, not only at an industry level but also as individuals. I urge you all to stand up for what we hold sacred in our country, or even for what we all take for granted,” reads the transcript for Partos’ speech, supplied to theMusic.com.au.

The Chaser‘s Andrew Hansen and Chris Taylor hosted the night at Sydney’s State Theatre, which honoured the work of screen composers over the last year. The award for Feature Film Score of the Year went to composer and musician Caitlin Yeo for her work on The Rocket.

Melbourne composer Dale Cornelius won Best Television Theme for his composition for ABC telemovie The Doctor Blake Mysteries and Catch Perfect by Jonathan Dreyfus won Best Music for a Short Film. Tropfest founder John Polson was presented with the International Achievement Award, which he accepted via a pre-recorded speech while en route to New York.

Must Read