Alex Lahey, Haiku Hands And More Nominated For APRA Screen Music Awards

The nominees for the 2021 APRA AMCOS Screen Music Awards have been announced today, with Alex Lahey, Haiku Hands, BIRDZ, Gordi and more included.

Initially set to go down last year, the Screen Music Awards were postponed ’til 2022 because of COVID-19 restrictions. The ceremony will take place on February 22nd, with no live event, understandable given the current state of play.

Between Lahey, Haiku Hands, Gordi, BIRDZ and producer Trials, the Screen Music Awards welcomes first-time nominees – all of these artists are vying for the Best Original Song Composed for the Screen gong.

Lahey and Gordi are nominated for their song (a collab with Gab Strum aka Japanese Wallpaper) ‘On My Way’ from the film The Mitchells vs. The Machines, while Haiku Hands have been nominated alongside Joelistics and Luke Dubber (Hermitude) for ‘Suck My Cherry’, which was featured in Freaky.

Watch the video for ‘Suck My Cherry’, below.

‘Bagi-la-m Bargan’ – the popular BIRDZ collab with Fred Leone – is nominated in the same category, having been featured in Looky Looky Here Comes Cooky.

The 2021 Screen Music Awards have also seen artists like Kate Miller-Heidke, Anthony Partos, Joff Bush nominated for their works on projects like The Worst Block in Town: Australian Red CrossRams, and Bluey respectively.

2021 Screen Music Awards Nominees

Best Music for an Advertisement

Matteo Zingales – Save Our Sons: Heartbeat

Scott Langley – Suncorp Team Girls | The Drive

Jonathan Dreyfus and Daniel Müller – The Untold Tale of Isabelle Simi

Kate Miller-Heidke and Keir Nuttall – The Worst Block in Town: Australian Red Cross

Best Music for a Documentary

Cezary Skubiszewski – Chef Antonio’s Recipes for Revolution

Caitlin Yeo – Playing with Sharks

Maria Grenfell – Quoll Farm

Rob Law – The Magnitude of All Things

Best Music for a Short Film

Fiona Hill – Circumstance 2000

Jorden Heys – Elagabalus

Jonathan Nix – Lifeblood

Adam Moses – Yellow Jack

Best Soundtrack Album

Joff Bush, David Barber, Helena Czajka, Marly Lüske, Lachlan Nicolson, Steve Peach –Bluey the Album

Christopher Gordon – Buckley’s Chance

Freya Berkhout – The Greenhouse

Michael Yezerski – The Vigil

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen

Nathan Bird, Fred Leone, Daniel Rankine – ‘Bagi-la-m Bargan’ (Looky Looky Here Comes Cooky)

Brontë Horder – ‘Fragile Soul’ (Ellie Was Here)

Alex Lahey, Sophie Payten, Gabriel Strum – ‘On My Way’ (The Mitchells Vs. The Machines)

Luke Dubber, Beatrice Lewis, Joel Ma, Claire Nakazawa, Mieh Nakazawa, Angus Stuart – ‘Suck My Cherry’ (Freaky)

Best Music for Children’s Programming

Joff Bush – Bluey

Ack Kinmonth – Daisy Quokka: World’s Scariest Animal

Piers Burbrook de Vere & Angela Little – Dive Club

Russell Thornton – Space Nova: Seaweed Samba

Best Television Theme

Ned Beckley, Joni Hogan, Josh Hogan – 100% Wolf

Cezary Skubiszewski, Jan Skubiszewski – Halifax Retribution

Roger Mason – Hungry Ghosts

Maria Alfonsine – Wakefield

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial

David McCormack, Matteo Zingales – Bump

David McCormack, Antony Partos – Jack Irish

Burkhard Dallwitz, Brett Aplin, Dmitri Golovko – Ms Fisher’s Modern Murder Mysteries

Maria Alfonsine, Caitlin Yeo – Wakefield

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie

Anthony El-Ammar, Adam Gock, Mitch Stewart, Dinesh Wicks, Brontë Horder, David Huxtable, Richard LaBrooy, Rufio Sandilands, Alex Slater, Adam Sofo Cassie To – Exposed: The Ghost Train Fire

Cezary Skubiszewski, Jan Skubiszewski – Halifax Retribution

Roger Mason – Hungry Ghosts

Antony Partos – The End

Feature Film Score of the Year

Brian Cachia – Bloody Hell

Christopher Gordon – June Again

Antony Partos – Rams

Michael Yezerski – The Tax Collector

Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia

Adam Gock, Dinesh Wicks – MasterChef20 To 1Anh’s Brush With Fame

Anthony El-Ammar – MasterChef, Married At First Sight, Lego Masters

Jay Stewart – The Block, Better Homes And Gardens, House Rules 

Mitch Stewart – MasterChef, Travel Guides, Love On The Spectrum

Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas

Adam Gock, Dinesh Wicks – MasterChef, Holey Moley (USA), Sea Patrol (Seasons 1 and 2)

Alastair Ford – McLeod’s Daughters

Michael Yezerski – A Place To Call Home (Season 1 and 2, 5 and 6), Deputy, Reef Break 

Neil Sutherland – Border Security, MythBusters, Bondi Vetalex

Must Read