Photo: Scott Dudelson/Getty Images

Slipknot’s Corey Taylor Releasing Album Of Covers And Acoustic Recordings

With the release of 2020’s CMFT, Slipknot and Stone Sour vocalist, Corey Taylor, added “solo artist” to his resume. CMFT came out in October 2020 and Taylor has now announced a companion album of covers and acoustic recordings.

The record – which Taylor called a “B-sides album” in a recent interview with SiriusXM’s Eddie Trunk – is expected on Friday, 25th February. “[It] has all the covers that we’ve done and some acoustic versions of some of the songs that are on CMFT,” Taylor said.

The first single, expected this Thursday, 11th February, is a cover of ‘On The Dark Side’ by John Cafferty & The Beaver Brown Band. ‘On the Dark Side’ was a setlist regular during Taylor’s recent CMFTour of the US. Taylor and his band also covered Pink Floyd’s ‘In The Flesh,’ Eddie Money’s ‘Shakin’,’ Cheap Trick’s ‘Dream Police,’ and INXS’s ‘Don’t Change.’

In other Taylor-related news, earlier this year the outspoken frontperson confirmed Slipknot’s seventh album would be released in 2022. He told Trunk the album will arrive “hopefully three months from now.” He described it as “darker” than 2019’s We Are Not Your Kind, “but there’s a ton of melody.”

The film Zombie vs. Ninja, a so-called “gonzo horror comedy”, written by Taylor, is also expected this year.

Must Read