Sum 41 Have Announced Their First New Album In 5 Years, ’13 Voices’

It’s time to bust out the black and red checked clothing, you guys, as Sum 41 have officially announced their first batch of new material since 2011. 13 Voices will be released on Friday, October 7th and holds unlimited potential to be the band’s return to form.

If you happened to give 2011’s Screaming Bloody Murder a spin, well, it’s understandable why you might be wincing reading news of a follow up, HOWEVER, 13 Voices will be released via the band’s new home of Hopeless Records – home to All Time Low, New Found Glory, and other bands who can put together a killer sing-a-long chorus and a solid pop punk album.

Taking to the band’s Facebook page, main man Deryck Whibley said, “This new music represents the journey I’ve been on throughout the process of making this record. I had to fall in order to rise, and nothing feels better than to have something you love that you had to really fight for.”

Worthy of note is the use of the pronoun “I” in the post. Despite the page proudly boasting the inclusion of founding members Cone McCaslin, Dave Brownsound, Frank Zummo and newest addition Tom Thacker, the post still mentions “I am really”, “Everything I’ve been through”, “I had to fall in order to rise”, “I cannot wait to share it with all of you”.

No, “We”, Deryck? What gives? #Cautious. Anyway. You can cautiously browse the album art and track listing below, alongside footage of their recent gig at Vans Warped Tour.

P.S. Sum 41 last toured Australia in 2013 for Soundwave, so hopefully a new album means a return visit.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more