The Cult Announce New Album ‘Choice of Weapon’ + Free Download

The Cult have announced the release of their first studio album in five years. The new album will be released in Australia on May 25th and is titled Choice of Weapon. According to the press release, the album will feature 10 tracks and reveal the band at its rawest and most visceral, encapsulating cinematic visions and themes of love, revolt, and redemption.

Fans can get an early taste of the album now, the track Lucifer was released today via the band’s official website.

Long-time Cult collaborator and producer Bob Rock (Metallica, Bush) – who produced one of The Cult’s most successful albums, the platinum-certified Sonic Temple, put the finishing touches on the foundations that were laid by co-producer Chris Goss (Queens of the Stone Age, U.N.K.L.E., Masters of Reality).

The record was written by Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy, recorded in New York City, Los Angeles, the California high desert, and the band’s Witch Mountain studios in the Hollywood Hills between July and December 2011.

The new release features founding members Astbury on vocals and Duffy on guitars, with drummer John Tempesta and bassist Chris Wyse. “We have had the opportunity to work with two of the most influential and talented producers in the world today,” said Astbury. “They pushed us beyond our comfort zone, and helped us craft Choice of Weapon.

Choice of Weapon is the follow=up to their 2007 release Born Into This.

Listen: The Cult – Lucifer

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more