The Grates Share ‘Holiday Home’ From New Album ‘Dream Team’

Brisbane indie-rock outfit The Grates have gifted fans with the first taste of their forthcoming fourth studio album, Dream Team. The new song, Holiday Home, is full of contagious energy, proving that the band have taken full advantage of going DIY.

“Don’t you wanna spend the night in this holiday home?” singer Patience Hodgson asks in Holiday Home‘s opening line, before roaring into the song’s erratic garage rock chorus, complete with some very scratchy guitars.

Joined by new drummer Ritchie Daniell, The Grates’ central (now-married) couple of Patience Hodgson and John Patterson have a renewed confidence to take the band further into DIY territory.

“We felt really confident that if we took on all the roles of a record label, we could do it ourselves and put out the album really quickly,” Hodgson says in a press release. The band recorded Dream Team in Sydney in just six days, and had to find time to play together while Hodgson and Patterson operated their café/bar.

“Because we all worked together at Southside, when we were finally able to start giving ourselves time off, the band room was like a well earned treat. Hanging out together under our house became a place to have fun and be loud,” Hodgson said.

“The band room was the reward, it was energising to play together and I think that’s what contributed to this album being so fast paced and raw… After not being able to make music for so long, because we had to prioritise the shop so it wouldn’t go out of business! We didn’t want to waste a minute; both feet on the accelerator felt best.”

The Grates revealed the existence of a new album last month, and explained that the release would be produced by Straight Arrows’ frontman Owen Penglis. The band’s most recent album, Secret Rituals, was released in 2011.

Dream Team will be The Grates’ self-recorded debut release on the Death Valley Records imprint, and is set for release on Friday, 28th November. Stream or download Holiday Home for free, below, alongside Dream Team‘s tracklisting and album art.

Listen: The Grates – Holiday Home

Check out ALL of this week’s new music right here!

The Grates – Dream Team Tracklisting

1. Call Me

2. Holiday home

3. 7-Eleven

4. Dirty Hands

5. It Won’t Hurt Anymore

6. Wild One

7. I’m Staying

8. Friends with scum

9. What’s Wrong With You

10. I Wish I Was Alone

11. Back to Back

Must Read