Thy Art Is Murder Release Crushing New Single, Announce Joint EP With Two Huge US Metal Acts

Thy Art Is Murder have teamed up with US deathcore giants The Acacia Strain and Fit For An Autopsy to triple the brutality with a new joint EP, dubbed The Depression Sessions.

To coincide with the huge announcement, the 2017 UNIFY Gathering act have also unleashed a lyric video for one of their two contributions to the disc, a crushing original dubbed They Will Know Another.

Recorded at Graphic Nature Audio in Belleville, New Jersey back in 2015 with Fit For an Autopsy’s Will Putney at the helm, Thy Art’s morose ode to the human plight is also historic, because it marks their last original recording to feature CJ McMahon on vocals (the frontman quit back in December, with the band now touring with superstar sub Lochlan Watt AKA headbanger-in-chief at triple j’s The Racket).

And in addition to They Will Know Another, Thy Art have also contributed a cover of Rammstein’s classic Du Hast to the 6-track disc, which features one original and one cover from each band (The Acacia Strain tackled Soundgarden’s Black Hole Sun while Fit For an Autopsy opted for a rendition of The Perfect Drug by Nine Inch Nails).

To mark The Depression Sessions announcement, all three bands have also released a collective statement.

It reads:

“After months of heavy touring, a cold New Jersey background set the tone for a dark, honest, and moody record. We gave some nods to the bands we grew up listening to and took some new risks in our own songs. More importantly, this record is a statement of community. We live in a very competitive and selfish world, and it this is proof it doesn’t have to be like that. It’s the friendships you make along the way, between the artists you share the stage with, that you’ll take away with you long after the shows are over. Support your peers; the whole music scene will be better for it. Thank you for listening.”


The Depression Sessions is due out on Friday, 12th August.

Limited edition clear-with-red-splatter vinyl is available through Nuclear Blast or digitally through iTunes, while fans who pre-order the EP will score an instant gratification download of Thy Art’s They Will Know Another.

Check out the lyric video below, alongside the disc’s official tracklist.

Watch: Thy Art Is Murder – They Will Know Another

The Depression Sessions – Tracklisting

1. THY ART IS MURDER – They Will Know Another

2. THE ACACIA STRAIN – Sensory Deprivation

3. FIT FOR AN AUTOPSY – Flatlining



6. FIT FOR AN AUTOPSY – The Perfect Drug (NINE INCH NAILS cover)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more