Custom styles

Image for Tonight Alive Guitarist Leaves Band, As Group Unveil New Album ‘Underworld’Photo: Neal Walters

Tonight Alive Guitarist Leaves Band, As Group Unveil New Album ‘Underworld’

Written by Tom Williams on October 17, 2017

Aussie rockers Tonight Alive are back with a vengeance, today announcing their new album Underworld and revealing their earworm of a new single, ‘Temple’, while also revealing that guitarist Whakaio Taahi has left the band.

In a statement, Tonight Alive say the departure of Taahi comes after the guitarist “made the decision to step back from touring and pursue his own career in songwriting and producing outside of the band”.

“Whakaio loved and came alive in the creative process; it was a pleasure and privilege to witness,” say the band.

“We know his heart and gifts belong in the studio and we continue to love and support each other as a family. The four of us consider ourselves to be one part of a greater whole, and will always hold a place for our brother and best friend, whose energy will be known, heard and felt for lifetimes.”

Jenna McDougall and the remaining members of the band will unleash their next full-length effort Underworld upon the real world on 12th January 2018, and according to the group’s record label UNFD, the record sees the band’s frontwoman awaken “feelings that she had repressed”, in order to use them “as a driving force when writing her lyrics”.

“The album is called Underworld and I named it that because it reflects the ugly parts of me that I wasn’t ready to see until now,” says McDougall.

Today’s album announcement also comes with a brand new track from Tonight Alive, dubbed ‘Temple’, which you can watch the A+ video for below, alongside the artwork and tracklist for Underworld.

Tonight Alive are touring Australia between October and November, and will also perform at UNIFY Gathering festival in 2018.

Tonight Alive ‘Underworld’ Artwork

TA_Underworld Cover 4000x4000px

Tonight Alive ‘Underworld’ Tracklist

1. Book of Love
2. Temple
3. Disappear
4. The Other
5. In My Dreams
6. For You
7. Crack My Heart
8. Just for Now
9. Burning On
10. Waiting For The End
11. Last Light
12. Looking For Heaven
13. My Underworld

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

Ingage unit

Monitoring string

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"

Tracking script