Yesterday Was Declared John Lennon Day, Yoko Ono Celebrated By Announcing A New Album

New York City has officially declared 29th July John Lennon Day praising his “great courage and unwavering commitment to building a better world.”

A giant tapestry was unveiled by a host of guests in New York including Bono, The Edge, Yoko Ono and Jimmy Iovine, celebrating 40 years since The Beatle got his US green card.

The tapestry will now hang at the Ellis Island National Museum of Immigration. It was created by Czech artist Peter Sis and was paid for by Bono, The Edge and Iovine.

“John is with us because John’s words are still with us. Please be kind, be peaceful and be loving. Thankyou,” Ono tweeted following the ceremony.

She’s also taken to the opportunity to announce a collaborative album Yes, I’m A Witch Too which will feature the likes of Sean Lennon, Cibo Matto, Peter Bjorn and John and Miike Snow. It follows on from her 2007 album Yes, I’m A Witch which saw her team up with Cat Power, Spiritualized, Le Tigre and more.

The record will be out on 22nd January 2016. You can see the whole tracklist below.

Pesky time differences mean that we have missed John Lennon Day for 2015, but wishing you all happy belated John Lennon Day anyway.


Yoko Ono – Yes, I’m A Witch Too (via Pitchfork)

1. Yoko Ono with Death Cab for Cutie – “Forgive Me My Love”

2. Yoko Ono with Peter, Bjorn and John – “Mrs. Lennon”

3. Yoko Ono with Jack Douglas – “Move on Fast”

4. Yoko Ono with Sparks – “Give Me Something”

5. Yoko Ono with Penguin Prison – “She Gets Down on Her Knees”

6. Yoko Ono with Portugal the Man – “Soul Got Out of the Box”

7. Yoko Ono with Sean Lennon – “Dogtown”

8. Yoko Ono with Tune-Yards – “Warrior Woman”

9. Yoko Ono with Miike Snow – “Catman”

10. Yoko Ono with Cibo Matto – “Yes, I’m Your Angel”

11. Yoko Ono with Dave Audé – “Wouldnit”

12. Yoko Ono with John Palumbo – “I Have a Woman Inside My Soul”

13. Yoko Ono with Ebony Bones – “No Bed for Beatle John”

14. Yoko Ono with Automatique – “Coffin Car”

15. Yoko Ono with Danny Tenaglia – “Walking on Thin Ice”

16. Yoko Ono with Blow Up – “Approximately Infinite Universe”

Must Read