Image for The Ocean Party Unveil New Single, National Tour Dates

The Ocean Party Unveil New Single, National Tour Dates

Written by Michael Carr on August 12, 2016

Having released six albums in the past seven years, Melbourne via Wagga Wagga band The Ocean Party are gearing up to release yet another one in the coming months, dropping new single and title track Restless today as a taste of what’s to come.

This of course follows on from the previous single taken from the album Black Bar, released along with a hilarious video back in June. These boys like to keep busy that’s for sure.

Recording the album themselves in their home studio (after trying out working in the studio on last years Light Weight and deciding they preferred the DIY approach) Restless is the product of the band doing exactly what they wanted. The result is an album that allows the band room to move without ever getting too far flung and nebulous.

Seeing the band continue to refine their practice both musically and lyrically, judging from Black Bar and Restless so far, the rest of the album has a lot in store for fans. Speaking of Restless the band describe it as dealing with issues of causality, asking the question: “When did everything start going this way? Why can’t we just trace the line backwards and smooth out the kinks?”

With the album set to be released on Spunk Records on Friday 23rd September, the band are also planning to set out on tour in support of it, crisscrossing the nation with Sydney guitar-pop quintet Big White along for the capital city supports.

Have a listen to the single here with full tour details below.

The Ocean Party 2016 National Tour Dates

Wednesday 28th September

Beach Road Hotel, Bondi

Thursday 29th September

The Phoenix, Canberra*

Friday 30th September

Petersham Bowls Club, Sydney*

Saturday 1st October

The Treehouse, Byron Bay

Sunday 2nd October

SeeSpace, Lismore

Tuesday 4th October

The Grand Hotel, Cairns

Wednesday 5th October

The Rec Room, Townsville

Friday 7th October

Sol Bar, Maroochydore

Saturday 8th October

Trainspotters, Brisbane*

Sunday 9th October

The Time Machine, Nambour*

Tuesday 11th October

Bunker Records, Toowoomba

Wednesday 12th October

The Federal Hotel, Bellingen

Thursday 13th October

Franks Wild Years, Thirroul

Friday 14th October

Thyme To Taste, Yass

Saturday 15th October

Tanswells Commercial Hotel, Beechworth

Sunday 16th October

Tanswells Commercial Hotel, Beechworth

Thursday 20th October

The Bridge Hotel, Castlemaine*

Friday 21st October

The Metro, Adelaide*

Saturday 22nd October

The Eastern, Ballarat*

Sunday 23rd October

The Birdhouse, Wagga Wagga*

Saturday 29th October

The Bird, Perth

Sunday 30th October

Mojos, Fremantle

Friday 4th November

The Grand Poo Bah, Hobart

Saturday 12th November

The Tote, Melbourne

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"