Amy Shark Cleans Up, Makes History At 2019 Gold Coast Music Awards

The annual Gold Coast Music Awards went down last night, with local legend Amy Shark taking home three titles and being announced as the ceremony’s inaugural Hall of Fame inductee.

Sharkie’s 2018 debut release Love Monster saw her pick up Release of the Year, Live Act of the Year, and, for the third year in a row, Artist of the Year.

Advocating for Gold Coast’s growing music scene, the local pop hero said of the wins: “I feel so honoured to be recognised by the Gold Coast Music Awards, by my home town and by the community that stood by me from the very beginning,” (via The Music Network).

“Thank you so much for these incredible awards and for inducting me as your first artist in the Gold Coast Music Hall of Fame,” she continued on the topic of the history-making honour.

“It’s such an exciting time for the Gold Coast and for music in this country, there are so many amazing bands and artists coming through the GC – it really feels so special to be part of the artist community.”

Shark’s impressive haul follows her taking home multiple gongs from the APRA Music Awards earlier this week.

Triple J Unearthed, indie-pop artist San Mei also left the evening with a couple of gongs: Breakout Artist of the Year and Song of the Year for her track, ‘Wonder’.

And there was more love shared among the Gold Coast talents. Musician of the Year went to Ian Peres (Wolfmother), Video of the Year went to YT DiNGO for ‘Shipwrecked’, and ELSKA took home the People’s Choice Award.

“Our 2019 award winners and finalists are a true testament to the creative gold that continues to grow and emerge from this city,” Director of the Gold Coast Music Awards, Samantha Morris, gushed in a statement.

“Amy Shark, San Mei, Ian Peres and YT DiNGO are all very deserving winners and we’re especially thrilled to announce that Amy will be the very first artist to be inducted into the Gold Coast Music Hall of Fame.

“We are currently consulting with City of Gold Coast and our industry partners to determine what a hall of fame might look like for the Gold Coast, but it’s sure to be a bit different!”

Shark will be formally inducted in 2020.

The awards night kicked off the four-day Surfers Paradise LIVE Festival which will see The Living End, Hoodoo Gurus, The Screaming Jets and Daryl Braithwaite (to name a few) perform.

Catch the full list of Gold Coast Music Award winners for 2019 below.

Gold Coast Music Awards Winners

Hall Of Fame Inductee

Amy Shark

Artist Of The Year

Amy Shark

Breakout Artist Of The Year

San Mei

Live Act Of The Year

Amy Shark

Musician Of The Year

Ian Peres

Release Of The Year

Love Monster – Amy Shark

Song Of The Year

‘Wonder’ – San Mei

Venue Of The Year

Vinnies Dive

Video Of The Year

‘Shipwrecked’ – YT DiNGO

People’s Choice Award


Latest on Music Feeds

Load more