Angus Stone ‘Broken Brights’ New Solo Album Details + New Band Performance At Splendour

Angus Stone, one half of triple j Hottest 100 winning duo Angus & Julia Stone, is set to release his new solo album Broken Brights this July, with a first-time performance with his new band to follow at this year’s Splendour in the Grass.

Broken Brights marks a slight departure from the folk sound Angus and his sister have been known for. The album, produced by Angus, shows that he can deftly shift between genres without compromising his signature sound. Title track Broken Brights shows a nostalgic, dreamy tribute to our youth — while the song Bird on the Buffalo is a more livelier composition, incorporating distorted guitar riffs, which also make an appearance in the notably rockier It Was Blue.

Speaking about recording without his sister, he says:

“Recording this album has been a very different experience for me. It was an opportunity to be a little more loose and have a bit more fun,”

“Recording with Julia is cool but we both have our hands on the wheel. This was an opportunity to grab the wheel and do some burn-outs”, says Stone.

Broken Brights will be released on CD, deluxe CD and digital formats, each including exclusive tracks, as well as on vinyl. The album will be released on Friday, 13th July.

Angus Stone ‘Broken Brights’ Tracklisting

  1. River Love
  2. Broken Brights
  3. Bird On The Buffalo
  4. Wooden Chair
  5. The Blue Door
  6. Apprentice Of The Rocket Man
  7. Only A Woman
  8. The Wolf And The Butler
  9. Monsters
  10. It Was Blue
  11. Be What You Be
  12. Clouds Above
  13. End Of The World
Must Read