Arcade Fire Return With New Single, Announce Upcoming Album ‘WE’

As promised, Arcade Fire are back with the new single, ‘The Lightning I, II’. The two-part track is the first taste of the Montréal band’s upcoming sixth album, details of which have also been revealed.

‘The Lightning I, II’ is split into two separate tracks on streaming services, but will appear on WE as one track. The music video – directed by Emily Kai Bock and featuring band members Win Butler, Regine Chassagne, Tim Kingsbury and Jeremy Gara, as well as touring members, Sarah Neufeld, Paul Beaubrun and Dan Boeckner – comprises the complete five and a half minute version.

In addition to Butler, Chassagne, Kingsbury and Gara, the band’s lineup on WE includes Will Butler and Richard Reed Parry; both members of Arcade Fire since the band’s debut album, Funeral, in 2004. Butler and Chassagne co-produced the upcoming album – out Friday, 6th May – with Radiohead and Beck producer Nigel Godrich.

WE is split into two halves. Tracks 1-3 comprise “I,” which channels the “fear and loneliness of isolation.” Tracks 4-7 make up “WE”, which expresses the “joy and power of reconnection.” Find the complete track listing and watch the video for ‘The Lightning I, II’ below.

Arcade Fire – WE

  1. Age of Anxiety I
  2. Age of Anxiety II (Rabbit Hole)
  3. End of the Empire I-IV
  4. The Lightning I, II
  5. Unconditional I (Lookout Kid)
  6. Unconditional II (Race and Religion)
  7. WE

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more