Bigsound | CREDIT: Marc Grimwade/WireImage.

Bigsound Share First Artist Announcement For 2024

Bigsound have revealed the first round of acts that will appear at this year’s conference. The multi-day music festival, convening on Brisbane’s Fortitude Valley in the first week of September 2024, will feature 70 bands and artists from across Australia and New Zealand – all of which can be found below.

Among the more established names on the bill are singer-songwriter Alex the Astronaut, Melbourne pop artist Gretta Ray, Sydney alternative rock band Dear Seattle and both of the solo projects from electronic duo Peking Duk: Adam Hyde’s Keli Holiday and Rueben Styles’ Y.O.G.A., marking their Bigsound debuts as individuals.

Artists from every state and territory in Australia will be represented at the conference. New South Wales representatives include dust, Georgia Mooney and Hellcat Speedracer. Representing Victoria are The Belair Lip Bombs, Garage Sale and Belle Haven. Queensland natives performing in the capital city will be sunbleached, Medhanit and Prink, while Canberra is represented by Sonic Reducer.

dust – ‘The Gutter’

Up north, Ray Dimakarry Dixon will travel from the Northern Territory, while Swapmeet and Divebar Youth will come from the opposite end in South Australia. To the west, Hottest 100 entrants Sly Withers will return to the festival from Western Australia, as will their onetime tourmate Noah Dillon.

In a joint statement, Casey O’Shaughnessy and Katie Rynne – the conference’s co-prorammers – said that it was “such a privilege” to curate this year’s festival, which marks their first time doing so. “We are blown away by the calibre of artists that applied this year, and we’ve discovered so many amazing new artists in the process,” they said.

Bigsound 2024

In alphabetical order

  • AKA Lui
  • Alex the Astronaut
  • Austin Mackay
  • The Belair Lip Bombs
  • Belle Haven
  • breathe.
  • Cap Carter
  • Charlie Pittman
  • Charlotte Le Lievre
  • Cooper Smith
  • Dear Seattle
  • Dick Move
  • DoloRRes
  • dust
  • Erik Sanders
  • Flow Kobra
  • Fool Nelson
  • Front Row
  • Garage Sale
  • Georgia Mooney
  • Gretta Ray
  • Hellcat Speedracer
  • Homegrown Trio
  • Hudson Rose
  • Jerome Blazé
  • Juice Webster
  • Julian Munyard
  • JUNO
  • Keli Holiday
  • Kiwat Kennell
  • Lotte Gallagher
  • Maanyung
  • Mac The Knife
  • Matahara
  • Matt Joe Gow & Kerryn Fields
  • Mau Power
  • Medhanit
  • Noah Dillon
  • Paige
  • Park RD
  • Playlunch
  • Prink
  • R.em.edy
  • Ray Dimakarri Dixon
  • Reiki Ruawai
  • Rowena Wise
  • Sesame Girl
  • Sex Mask
  • Sly Withers
  • Sonic Reducer
  • Squid the Kid
  • Stand Atlantic
  • Stocker
  • sunbleached
  • This New Light
  • total tommy
  • The Velvet Club
  • Vetta Borne
  • Vinnie Brigante
  • Wade Forster
  • Y.O.G.A.

Tickets for the conference are available now via the Bigsound website.

Further Reading

Australian Heavy Music Deserves More Recognition: A Polite Post-BIGSOUND Rant

BIGSOUND Gallery: Ūla, bella amor, Keenan Te @ Ones to Watch, The Outpost

Sweet Relief! 2024: Kelis, The Presets, Haiku Hands + More

Must Read