Bloc Party’s Frontman Kele Shares New Single ‘Smalltown Boy’ & Announces New Album

Bloc Party’s frontman Kele has announced a new album today and has blessed us with a new single.

‘Smalltown Boy’ is taken from forthcoming album The Waves Pt. 1. It’s due for release Friday, 28th May.

The single is a slow burner and a sonically-beautiful track.

“We were due to start working on my second musical with the Lyric Theatre but when the lockdown came into effect those plans were thrown into disarray. I became a stay at home dad of a 3 year old and a 6 month old,” says Kele in a media statement.

“What also became clear was that I still had the desire to create…

“I knew I had to fill in the space of this record entirely by myself, which was daunting but also very liberating.

“This album is literally the sound of me.”

Listen to ‘Smalltown Boy’ and catch the tracklisting for The Waves Pt. 1 below.

Kele’s ‘The Waves Pt. 1’ Tracklisting

Out Friday, 28th May

01. Message From The Spirit World

02. They Didn’t See It Coming

03. The Way We Live Now

04. How To Beat The Lie Detector

05. Dungeness

06. Ninevah

07. The One Who Held You Up

08. The Patriots

09. Intention

10. Smalltown Boy

11. From A Place Of Love

12. The Heart Of The Wave

13. Cradle You (Bonus Track)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more