Chet Faker, Sticky Fingers & More Up For ARIA Artisan Awards

Organisers of the 28th Annual Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) Awards have announced this year’s nominees in the Fine Arts and Artisan Awards categories, including Chet Faker, Josh Pyke, Sia and more of the country’s most talented musicians and artisans.

Josh Pyke is up for a joint award for Producer Of The Year for his latest record The Beginning and the End of Everything. He’ll face off against down-tempo producer Nick Murphy, aka Chet Faker, who is also nominated for his production skills on his debut album Built On Glass, while the album’s engineer Eric J Dubowsky is also nominated for an award.

Pop music superstar Sia has been nominated for Best Cover Art for her chart-topping album 1000 Forms of Fear and Sydney native Dustin Tebbutt has been recognised for his engineering work for his latest Bones EP.

Other nominees include Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra as well as Katie Noonan who are up for Best Original Soundtrack/Cast/Show Album and Angus and Julia Stone who are also up for Best Cover Art.

The Fine Arts and Artisan awards will be presented to the winners at a ceremony at the Art Gallery of NSW on Tuesday, 7th October, when the full ARIA Awards nominations will also be announced. The 28th Annual ARIA Awards will take place on Wednesday, 26th November 2014, returning to the Event Centre at The Star in Sydney.

ARIA has also revealed that iconic Australian artist, Ken Done has designed the official 2014 ARIA Awards commemorative artwork, which you can see below. He will be a special guest at the nominations event to present the Best Cover Art recipient with their ARIA Award.

See the Fine Arts and Artisan nominees below.

2014 ARIA Awards Connected By Telstra Artwork designed by Ken Done

FANBRIDGE_FINAL_2014 ARIA Awards Commemorative Artwork designed by Ken Done

ARIA 2014 Fine Arts & Artisan Nominees

Artisan Awards Nominees

Engineer of the Year

Dustin Tebbutt for Dustin Tebbutt – Bones EP (Eleven: a music company Pty Ltd/UMA)

Eric J Dubowsky for Chet Faker – Built On Glass (Future Classic)

Matthew Lambert and Barry Francis for Hilltop Hoods – Walking Under Stars (Golden Era Records/Island Records Australia/Universal Music Australia)

Nicholas Wilson and Dann Hume for Sticky Fingers – Land Of Pleasure (Sureshaker/MGM)

Paul McKercher for Andy Bull – Sea Of Approval (Island Records Australia/Universal Music Australia)

Virginia Read for Simon Tedeschi, James Morrison, Sarah McKenzie – Gershwin: Take Two (ABC Jazz/UMA)

Producer Of The Year

Alex JL Hiew and SLUMS for Troye Sivan – TRXYE (EMI)

Dann Hume for Sticky Fingers – Land Of Pleasure (Sureshaker/MGM)

John Castle and Josh Pyke for Josh Pyke – The Beginning and the End of Everything (Ivy League Records)

Nicholas Murphy for Chet Faker – Built On Glass (Future Classic)

Stuart Stuart for Sheppard – Bombs Away (Empire of Song/Chugg Music/MGM Distribution)

Best Cover Art

Angus & Julia Stone for Angus & Julia Stone – Angus & Julia Stone (EMI)

Celeste Potter for DZ Deathrays – Black Rat (I Oh You/Illusive/UMA)

Sia for Sia – 1000 Forms of Fear (Inertia Recordings)

The Leonard Brothers for 360 – Utopia (Forthwrite/EMI)

Tin & Ed for Chet Faker – Built On Glass (Future Classic)

Fine Arts Award Nominees

Best Classical Album

Australian World Orchestra / Zubin Mehta – Stravinsky Rite of Spring / Mahler Symphony No.1 (ABC Classics/Universal Music Australia)

Emma Matthews / Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra / Marko Letonja – Mozart Arias (ABC Classics/UMA)

Joe Chindamo & Zoe Black – Dido’s Lament (Mo’OzArt/The Planet Company)

Latitude 37 – Empires (ABC Classics/Universal Music Australia)

Lior / Sydney Symphony Orchestra / Nigel Westlake – Compassion (ABC Classics /Universal Music Australia)

Melbourne Symphony Orchestra / Andrew Macleod / Benjamin Northey / Markus Stenz – Adès Polaris / Stanhope Piccolo Concerto

(ABC Classics/Universal Music Australia)

Topology – Share House (Independent/MGM)

Best Jazz Album

Andrea Keller Quartet with Strings – Wave Rider (Jazzhead/MGM)

Emma Pask – Season Of My Heart (Mercury Records Australia/Universal Music Australia)

Graeme Lyall, John Hoffman, Tony Gould, Ben Robertson, Tony Floyd – The Hunters & Pointers (Which Way Music/Fuse Group)

Paul Grabowsky Sextet – The Bitter Suite (ABC Jazz/UMA)

Vince Jones – The Monash Sessions (Jazzhead/MGM)

Best Original Soundtrack / Cast / Show Album

Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu / Sydney Symphony Orchestra – Gurrumul : His Life And Music (ABC Music/UMA)

Glenn Shorrock & Brian Cadd – The Story of Sharky and The Caddman (FANFARE CLASSIC/EMI)

Katie Noonan – Fierce Hearts (Kin Music/Universal Music Australia)

Various Artists – Spirit Of Akasha (Warner Music Australia)

Various Artists – triple j’s One Night Stand: Mildura (ABC Music/UMA)

Best World Music Album

Astronomy Class – Mekong Delta Sunrise (Elefant Traks/Inertia Music)

Jane Rutter – Flute Spirit: Dreams and Improvisations (ABC Classics/UMA)

Joseph Tawadros – Permission to Evaporate (ABC Music/UMA)

The Barons of Tang – Into The Mouths of Hungry Giants (Bird’s Robe Records/MGM)

William Barton – Birdsong at Dusk (ABC Classics/UMA)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more