Dan Sultan, Briggs Win At National Indigenous Music Awards

Dan Sultan has swept up at the year’s National Indigenous Music Awards (NIMAs) in Darwin nabbing an impressive three wins, while singer Jessica Mauboy and rapper Briggs also came away with awards.

Melbourne rocker Sultan dominated the award ceremony, with his latest record Blackbird deemed the National Album of the Year. Its single The Same Man took out Song of the Year and its cover art, designed by artist Ken Taylor, also won.

Jessica Mauboy was awarded National Artist of the Year for the second consecutive year. She was not present to accept the award but she delivered an acceptance speech from Los Angeles, where she is recording a new album.

Shepparton’s “unofficial Mayor” Briggs was named Best New Talent. His new album Sheplife is due for release on Friday, 22nd August. North East Arnhem Land band East Journey won National Film Clip of the Year for their track Bright Lights Big City and Community Clip of the Year was awarded to Desert Sevenz Crew from Ampilatwatja, a small community in remote central Australia.

The NIMA Hall of Fame inductee was Munkimuk aka Mark Munk Ross, a Sydney based Indigenous Hip Hop performer and founding member of Deadly Award-winning group South West Syndicate.

The awards show featured performances from Dan Sultan, Briggs, Jimblah, The Last Kinection, Tom E. Lewis, the Tjintu Desert Band, the Desert Divas, and Arnhem Land dancers Djuki Mala. See all the winners below.

Watch: East Journey – Bright Lights Big City

2014 National Indigenous Music Award Winners

National Artist of the Year

Jessica Mauboy

National Album of the Year

Blackbird – Dan Sultan

National Song of the Year

The Same Man – Dan Sultan

National New Talent of the Year


National Cover Art of the Year

Blackbird – Dan Sultan

Artist – Ken Taylor

National Film Clip of the Year

Bright Lights Big City – East Journey

Director/Film Maker – Naina Sen

Executive Producer – Susan Sandery

Community Clip of the Year

Artists – Desert Sevenz

Song – Fly Back Home

Community – Ampilatwatja, NT

Released – Sep 25, 2013

Facilitators / Mentors of Project – Desert Pea Media

NT School Band of the Year

Rockstar Band

(A nine piece outfit from Gapuwiyak, NT)

NT Traditional Music Award of the Year

Jaydron Nundhirribala, Roland Nundhirribala and Grant Nundhirribala


Lindsay Gameraidj for his song Nangale

NIMA Hall of Fame

Munkimuk aka Mark Munk Ross

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more