Dead Meadow Make Ready Digital Release of Peel Sessions

American psych-rock heroes Dead Meadow have announced details of a rather special new release. The Washington DC trio are to put out, on a digital release, the recording of their appearance on John Peel’s radio show from back in 2001.

Consequence Of Sound reports that Dead Meadow were the first non-UK act to record for the sessions, which took place in Fugazi‘s recording space in Arlington, Virginia. Peel Sessions comes out via download on May 10 via Xemu Recordings. The album will feature six songs from the session itself, plus an extra two tracks – a demo of White Worm and an acoustic version of White Cloud.

Dead Meadow are also reportedly working on a follow-up to their 2010 album Three Kings with original drummer who has returned to the fold, Mark Laughlin.

The band were in Australia as recently as October 2010, when they played to packed houses across two nights at Sydney’s Metro Theatre as well as dates interstate. With a bit of luck, they will return to these shores soon. But for now, here is a clip of one of the songs from Peel Sessions and the LP’s tracklisting.

<object height=”81″ width=”100%”> <param name=”movie” value=”″></param> <param name=”allowscriptaccess” value=”always”></param> <embed allowscriptaccess=”always” height=”81″ src=”″ type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” width=”100%”></embed> </object>  <span><a href=””>Indian Bones – Peel Session</a> by <a href=””>Dead Meadow</a></span>

01. Dusty Nothing

02. Good Moanin’

03. The Boot

04. Indian Bones

05. Drifting Down Streams

06. Breeze Always Blows

07. White Worm

08. Golden Cloud

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more