Eagles Of Death Metal Are Back With A New Single, Album Announcement & Hilarious ‘Star Trek’ Themed Artwork

Eagles Of Death Metal have returned with a brand new single, Complexity, off their just-announced forthcoming album, Zipper Down.

Yes, the duo of Jesse Hughes and Queens Of The Stone Age‘s Josh Homme are finally set to release the long-awaited follow-up to their 2008 LP, Heart On, and they’ve offered a pair of statements to shed some light on the disc’s debut single.

Complexity is the musical equivalent of holding a lucky rabbit’s foot with the unlucky rabbit still attached,” Homme told Pitchfork. While Hughes added: “Complexity is sort of our way of saying, ‘Keep it simple, stupid”.

The triumphant, toe-tapping number is accompanied by some magnificent Star Trek-inspired artwork, which features Boots Electric and Baby Duck dressed Spock-ily whilst holding bitchin’ laser handguns on a superbly illustrated spacescape.

Although Homme rarely performs live with Eagles Of Death Metal due to his various other commitments, he did recently join them onstage for a show in Paris.

Zipper Down contains 11-tracks, including Complexity as well as a cover of Duran Duran’s Save a Prayer. In a statement, Homme said, “In an independent study, four out of three doctors say ZIPPER DOWN is an eargasm trapped inside a crazerbeam. And I believe them.”

“The new album, ZIPPER DOWN, really represents to me an attitude and philosophy of life,” added Hughes. “One should not zipper up, they should zipper down and let it all hang out.”

Zipper Down is set for release in Australia on 2nd October. Catch Complexity in full, below, along with the album’s tracklist.

Zipper Down Tracklist

01. Complexity

02. Silverlake (K.S.O.F.M.)

03. Got a Woman

04. I Love You All The Time

05. Oh Girl

06. Got the Power

07. Skin Tight Boogie

08. Got a Woman (slight return)

09. The Deuce

10. Save a Prayer (Duran Duran cover)

11. The Reverend

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more