Flight Facilities Announce New Album ‘Forever’, Share Title Track Featuring Broods

After teasing its existence with a string of singles in recent months, electronic duo Flight Facilities have announced their second album Forever will arrive in November.

In a press release, the duo said the follow-up to 2014 debut Down to Earth was the product of “five years work” that serves as “a combination of where we’ve been, where we are, and where we’re going.” The project was guided by collaboration, with Jagwar Ma’s Jono Ma playing an “integral” role in the final stages of the album’s process.

“While our musical journey has always been an intentional exploration of multiple genres, our hearts and roots lie on the dance floor. We applied that same explorative ethos to this record, taking a concerted delve into the previously untouched niches and eras of dance,” the duo said.

“It’s been a long time coming, and only the same time will tell if it was worth the wait. That deliberation stems from a strive to make the type of music, which lasts as long as our creative process appears to take… forever.”

Coinciding with the announcement, the duo (Jimmy Lyell and Hugo Gruzman) have also shared the album’s title track, featuring Broods. The song – the fourth single to be lifted from the album ahead of its release – is built around a big lush solo synth line, with textural electronics bubbling underneath Broods’ Georgia Nott’s gossamer vocals.

“Conceived in 2016, it’s no coincidence that this song ended up with its title, because it felt like a lifetime ago that we were haphazardly throwing down vocals in a Los Angeles lounge-room with Broods,” Flight Facilities said of the new track.

“In a rushed ‘vocal session’, which we unsubtly arranged as an excuse to preload for a night out, we came to realise that we’d captured more magic than first thought. Instrumentally, we drew on acts like The Chemical Brothers, Mylo and Underworld throughout the five year process.

“We even cautiously navigated the dangerous waters of late 2000’s EDM, while using Georgia’s delicate voice to diffuse the ostentation of the sound. ‘Forever’ feels like the quintessential bridge between our musical origins as Flight Facilities, and our undeniable love of dance music in all its forms.”

‘Forever’ follows on from previous singles ‘Lights Up’ with Channel Tres, ‘The Ghost’, and ‘Move’, which featured DRAMA. It’s one of two appearances by Broods on the album, who also feature on a track titled ‘What I Want’. Other collaborators on the record include Your Smith, BRUX, Jordy Felix and Emma Louise.

Listen to ‘Forever’, and see the album’s artwork and tracklist below. It’s set to arrive on Friday, 12th November via Future Classic.

Flight Facilities – ‘FOREVER’ tracklist

  1. ‘Lights Up’ (feat. Channel Tres)
  2. ‘What I Want’ (feat. Broods)
  3. ‘Heavy’ (feat. Your Smith)
  4. ‘The Ghost’
  5. ‘Altitude’
  6. ‘Wait & See’ (feat. BRUX)
  7. ‘Forever’ (feat. Broods)
  8. ‘Move’ (feat. DRAMA)
  9. ‘Pain’ (feat. Jordy Felix)
  10. ‘Stay’ (feat. Your Smith)
  11. ‘If Only I Could’ (feat. Emma Louise)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more