Interpol Announce New Album ‘El Pintor’

New York post-punk revivalists Interpol have announced that they will release El Pintor, their fifth studio album and first new material in four years, this September.

El Pintor (Spanish for “The Painter”, as well as an anagram of Interpol) will be released in Australia on 5th September, and follows the band’s 2010 self-titled release.

The Paul Banks fronted group have posted a short statement to their official website, announcing the album and sharing details of its recording.

“We wrote & recorded the bulk of the album in NYC and finished mixing it in London during the early part of this year,” the statement reads, before name-dropping some renowned recording engineers.

“The album was recorded at Electric Lady Studios & Atomic Sound by Mr James Brown and mixed by Mr Alan Moulder at Assault & Battery studios. We had a lot of fun making this record and can’t wait for you to hear it.”

Besides his usual frontman duties, Banks has also taken up bass duties for the first time on El Pintor, following the departure of long-time bassist Carlos Dengler in 2010.

Interpol released a tenth anniversary edition of their debut album Turn On The Bright Lights back in 2012. After revealing that album number 5 was coming in 2014, the band began performing some new material for audiences.

Interpol will hit Australian shores in July to perform at Splendour In The Grass 2014. Check out a behind-the-scenes clip of El Pintor‘s recording sessions alongside its tracklisting below, as well as live footage of new songs My Desire and Anywhere.

Watch: El Pintor Behind-The-Scenes

Watch: Interpol – My Desire (Live)

Watch: Interpol – Anywhere (Live)

El Pintor tracklisting

All the Rage Back Home

My Desire


Same Town, New Story

My Blue Supreme

Everything Is Wrong

Breaker 1

Ancient Ways

Tidal Wave

Twice as Hard

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more