Listen: New Stone Sour Song ‘Gone Sovereign/Absolute’

Slipknot’s frontman Corey Taylor also sings in another pretty successful band by the name of Stone Sour, who you might have noticed on the lineup for Soundwave 2013. By the time the hard-hitting four-piece reach our shores, Stone Sour will have released their latest album House of Gold and Bones (Part I), which is due out October 23, 2012.

House of Gold and Bones (Part 2) is slated for release in May 2013, and according to Rolling Stone, the two records depict the story of a young male attempting to come to terms with the conscious decisions required to mentally transition from adolescence to adulthood.

“Each song tells a different part of the story, but it’s so unique unto itself,” Taylor told Rolling Stone, “That was one of the things we really wanted to go for; we didn’t want to do a batch of tunes that all sound alike. We wanted to make sure each song had its own soul, basically.”

On making the two records Taylor explained that the band worked overtime to produce the best albums possible in limited time.

“Even with the time constraints we had, we basically recorded two albums in the time it takes to record one… So we were doing double-duty every day. I was tracking two songs vocally a day just to keep us on a deadline and it really pushed us to strive for excellence,” Taylor told Rolling Stone.

So how successful were Stone Sour and producing two quality albums ‘in the time it takes to record one’? Well, you can partially judge for yourself as the band has posted the first two tracks from House of Gold and Bones (Part I) on their official website (Music Feeds has included them below if you’d rather). Gone Sovereign and Absolute Zero are high-impact no-nonsense numbers and if they are a fair representation of what’s to come, then Stone Sour fans are in for one hell of a head banging good time.

Stone Sour – House of Gold and Bones (Part I) – Tracklist

1. Gone Sovereign

2. Absolute Zero

3. A Rumor of Skin

4. The Travellers Part 1

5. Tired

6. RU486

7. My Name Is Allen

8. Taciturn

9. Influence Of A Drowsy God

10. The Travellers Part 2

11. Last Of The Real

Listen: Stone Sour – Gone Sovereign / Absolute

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more