LISTEN: The xx New Track ‘Together’ From ‘The Great Gatsby’ Soundtrack

The xx’s new song, Together, has made its way online. Together is a part of the soundtrack for Baz Luhrmann’s upcoming movie The Great Gatsby, with The xx being among the many notable acts contributing fresh originals for the film.

For two albums now (xx, Coexist) The xx have proven that less is more and their new number for The Great Gatsby is no different. With singers Oliver Sim and Romy Madley Croft trading verses, Together plays with a quiet desperation.

Much like Lana Del Rey’s Young & Beautiful, it seems the song was written with a particular scene in mind, rather than just having The xx recording a new song to boost soundtrack sales.

Jay-Z, Florence and the Machine and Sia have also recorded new songs for The Great Gatsby Soundtrack.

The soundtrack will be released in Australia Friday 10th, May while the film hits big screens on Thursday, 30th May.

Have a listen to The xx’s Together below and the check out the soundtrack sampler.

LISTEN: The xx – Together

The Great Gatsby – Soundtrack

1. Jay-Z – 100$ Bill

2. Beyonce and André 3000 – Back to Black

3. – Bang Bang

4. Fergie, Q-Tip and GoonRock – A Little Party Never Killed Nobody (All We Got)

5. Lana Del Rey – Young and Beautiful

6. Bryan Ferry with the Bryan Ferry Orchestra – Love Is the Drug

7. Florence and the Machine – Over the Love

8. Coco O of Quadron – Where The Wind Blows

9. Emelie Sande and the Bryan Ferry Orchestra – Crazy in Love (Beyonce cover)

10. The xx – Together

11. Gotye – Hearts a Mess

12. Jack White – Love Is Blindness (U2 Cover)

13. Nero – Into the Past

14. Sia – Kill and Run

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more