Wayne Kramer
MC5 Wayne Kramer Image Supplied via Instagram

MC5 Announce First Album In 53 Years

MC5, the rock band of the mid-1960s, mainly known for their energetic live performances and a left-wing stance, is finally all set to release their new album “Heavy Lifting” on 18th October, for the first after almost 53 years of the band’s existence. The debut track of the album is titled “Boys Who Play With Matches” and the song was released on Thursday, 6th June. 

They have the status of being the pioneers of rock music and happen to be the inspiration of many great musicians like THE WHITE STRIPES, RAMONES, RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE, THE CLASH and many other countless artists, they continue to inspire the sounds of punk and alternative rock for the current generation and the others to come. 

MC5 – ‘Boys Who Play with Matches’

Kramer in an interview with Uncut in November 2023, mentioned the following while talking about the album “Live long and stay creative. This is my attitude. And this album continues from where ‘High Time’ left off. In that, I think it’s an artist’s responsibility to reflect the times they’re going through. And I think that we made an album that is in sync with where we’re at today and the challenges we’re facing, and that carries a positive message.”

The first new music from MC5 will be released by earMusic after almost 50 years, the last being 1971’s “High Time”.

“Heavy Lifting” Tracklist:

  1. Barbarians At The Gate
  2. Because Of Your Car
  3. Blessed Release
  4. Blind Eye (feat. Dennis Thompson)
  5. Black Boots (feat. Tim McIlrath)
  6. Boys Who Play With Matches
  7. Can’t Be Found (feat. Vernon Reid and Dennis Thompson)
  8. Change, No Change
  9. Heavy Lifting (feat. Tom Morello)
  10. Hit It Hard (feat. Joe Berry)
  11. I Am The Fun (The Phoney)
  12. The Edge Of The Switchblade (feat. William Duvall and Slash)
  13. Twenty-Five Miles

Additional track listing (2CD/2LP):

  1. Borderline
  2. Come Together
  3. Future/Now
  4. Gotta Keep Movin’
  5. Kick Out The Jams
  6. Motor City Is Burning
  7. Poison
  8. Ramblin’ Rose
  9. Shakin’ Street
  10. Sister Anne

You can stream the new music ‘Heavy Lifting’ here.

Further Reading

Salt Tree Announce 2024 Australian Tour

Halsey Drops New Single ‘In The End’ and Opens Up About Health Issues on Instagram

Nia Archives Announces 2025 Australian Tour

Must Read