Melbourne Festival 2013 Music Lineup Announced

The Melbourne Festival 2013 lineup has just been announced and there’s a huge selection of contemporary musical offerings set for this year’s event, including Yo La Tengo, The Polyphonic Spree, Cody ChesnuTT, Fuck Buttons, Gurrumul, Flight Facilities and Active Child, who spilled the beans on his involvement earlier today.

The festival is set down for 11th-27th October this year, with some truly unique and interesting musical events on offer. Highlights include a premiere screening of Michael Kantor’s The Boy Castaways, a musical based around a “twisted version of Peter Pan” which stars Megan Washington, Tim Rogers and Paul Capsis.

Those three will also feature in a live show titled Songs Of Wreck And Ruin, where they will perform songs by Iggy Pop, Daniel Johnston and more which are featured in the film.

Also of note, Archie Roach will be performing his well received Sydney Festival show, Into The Bloodstream, while Nashville’s Caitlin Rose is teaming up with Henry Wagons for an evening of neo-country. We’ll also see performances from Dexter (ex-Avalanches), British India, Hiatus Kaiyote and The Beta Band’s Steve Mason.

The Foxtel Festival Hub will once again return to the banks of the Yarra after its welcome debut last year. Featuring some of the best live entertainment, special events, food, drinks and entertainment, the Hub will see the likes of The Polyphonic Spree, Fuck Buttons, Husky, Olafur Arnalds, Cody ChesnuTT, Flight Facilities, WERK and Caitlin Rose grace its stages.

Tickets go on sale this Friday, 16th August, with prices starting from $25. You can take a look at the full music lineup below, and for more info head on over to the official Melbourne Festival website.

Melbourne Festival 2013 Contemporary Music lineup

Active Child

Amadou & Mariam

Archie Roach

British India

Caitlin Park & Henry Wagons

The Caribs

The Cinematic Orchestra


Cody ChesnuTT

Dexter (The Avalanches)

Flight Facilities

Fuck Buttons


The Handsome Family

Hiatus Kaiyote



No Zu

Ólafur Arnalds (Iceland)

Oliver Tank

The Polyphonic Spree

Prince Rama

Quique Neira (Chile)

Ska Vendors (UK)

Songs of Wreck and Ruin – feat. Washington, Tim Rogers, and Paul Capsis

Steve Mason (UK)

Strange Tenants (Jamaica)

Werk of THISISPOPBABY (Ireland)

Yo La Tengo

Must Read