Metallica Announce New Album ‘Hardwired… To Self-Destruct’, Unleash New Song

Metallica have announced their forthcoming new album Hardwired… To Self-Destruct is due for release in November, and they’ve also unleashed the album’s opening track upon the world.

Metallica released their previous studio album (excluding 2011’s Lulu with Lou Reed) in 2008 with Death Magnetic, and it looks like fans are going to be more than rewarded for waiting, because Hardwired… To Self-Destruct is a double album featuring almost 80 minutes of music spread across 12 new tracks.

The album was produced by Greg Fidelman (who also worked on Lulu and Death Magnetic) and the band’s James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich.

Metallica say the record “represents the next phase of our journey as Metallica”, and they’re also teasing some forthcoming tour news.

“Keep watching this space for more information, we cannot wait to hit the road to play these songs live and get in your faces once again, so strap yourselves in,” the band say.

Metallica’s new song Hardwired (below) is a ferocious, rumbling tune that moves at a chaotic pace, introducing new elements while retaining that core Metallica sound.

Hardwired… To Self-Destruct is due for release on 18th November in both standard and deluxe formats. If you don’t think two discs of new music is enough, the deluxe version features a third disc of origin riffs that helped construct the album.

Stream Hardwired below, alongside Hardwired… To Self-Destruct‘s cover art and tracklist.

Watch: Metallica – Hardwired

Metallica – Hardwired… To Self-Destruct Cover Art

metallica hardwired to self destruct cover art 2016 source official website

Metallica – Hardwired… To Self-Destruct Tracklist

Disc One

01. Hardwired

02. Atlas, Rise!

03. Now That We’re Dead

04. Moth Into Flame

05. Am I Savage?

06. Halo On Fire

Disc Two

01. Confusion

02. Dream No More

03. ManUNkind

04. Here Comes Revenge

05. Murder One

06. Spit Out The Bone

Disc Three (Deluxe Edition)

01. Lords Of Summer

02. Riff Charge (Riff Origins)

03. N.W.O.B.H.M. A.T.M. (Riff Origins)

04. Tin Shot (Riff Origins)

05. Plow (Riff Origins)

06. Sawblade (Riff Origins)

07. RIP (Riff Origins)

08. Lima (Riff Origins)

09. 91 (Riff Origins)

10. MTO (Riff Origins)

11. RL72 (Riff Origins)

12. Frankenstein (Riff Origins)

13. CHI (Riff Origins)

14. X Dust (Riff Origins)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more