Pavement Share Previously Unreleased ‘Terror Twilight’ Rarity

It’s not every day we get to announce new music from indie rock godheads Pavement. But, as the band is gearing up to release a deluxe version of their fifth album, Terror Twilight, new music has arrived.

Released in 1999, Terror Twilight remains Pavement’s most recent album, but the Californian band has a heckload of material in the vault. The new single, titled ‘Be the Hook’, is one of 28 previously unreleased recordings that’ll feature on the upcoming multi-disc Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal reissue, due out Friday, 8th April via Matador Records.

It’ll be available in 4xLP and 2xCD editions. The former not only includes 28 previously unreleased tracks – spanning B-sides, home demos, rehearsal tapes, era-appropriate live recordings, and rough tracks from Pavement’s scrapped session at Sonic Youth’s Echo Canyon studio – but also a rejigged track sequence, heeding the suggestion of the album’s producer, Nigel Godrich.

Take a look at the 45-song track listing below, and pre-order or pre-save a copy here.

Pavement – Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal

LP1 – Side A

  1. Platform Blues
  2. The Hexx
  3. You Are a Light
  4. Cream of Gold
  5. Ann Don’t Cry

LP1 – Side B

  1. Billie
  2. Folk Jam
  3. Major Leagues
  4. Carrot Rope
  5. Shagbag #
  6. Speak, See, Remember
  7. Spit On a Stranger

LP2 – Side C

  1. The Porpoise and the Hand Grenade
  2. Rooftop Gambler
  3. Your Time to Change
  4. Stub Your Toe
  5. Major Leagues (Demo Version)
  6. Decouvert de Soleil

LP2 – Side D

  1. Carrot Rope (SM Demo) #
  2. Folk Jam Moog (SM Demo) #
  3. Billy (SM Demo) #
  4. Terror Twilight [Speak, See, Remember] (SM Demo) #
  5. You Are a Light (SM Demo) #
  6. Cream of Gold Intro (Jessamine) #
  7. Cream of Gold (SM Demo) #

LP3 – Side E

  1. Spit On a Stranger (SM Demo) #
  2. Folk Jam Guitar (SM Demo) #
  3. You Are a Light (Echo Canyon) #
  4. Ground Beefheart [Platform Blues] (Echo Canyon) #
  5. Folk Jam (Echo Canyon) #

LP3 – Side F

  1. Ann Don’t Cry (Echo Canyon) #
  2. Jesus in Harlem [Cream of Gold] (Echo Canyon) #
  3. The Porpoise and the Hand Grenade (Echo Canyon) #
  4. Spit On a Stranger (Echo Canyon) #
  5. Be The Hook #

LP4 – Side G

  1. You Are a Light (Jackpot!) #
  2. Terror Twilight [Speak, See, Remember] (RPM) #
  3. Rooftop Gambler (Jessamine) #
  4. For Sale! The Preston School of Industry (Jessamine) #
  5. Frontwards (Live) #

LP4 – Side H

  1. Platform Blues (Live) #
  2. The Hexx (Live) #
  3. You Are a Light (Live) #
  4. Folk Jam (Live) #
  5. Sinister Purpose (Live) #

# = previously unreleased

2xCD features 1999 album sequence

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more