News

PREMIERE: RACKETT Deliver Irresistible Punk-Fuelled Pop With ‘Tried To Quit’

After smashing out a mind-boggling 150 live shows since 2017 and releasing their critically acclaimed EP Ready Or Not, Sydney girl gang Rackett have slapped us with a brand new slice of indie punk fire dubbed ‘Tried To Quit’.

Premiering via Music Feeds below, ‘Tried To Quit’ is so unbelievably infectious that you wouldn’t quit it even if you wanted to. From the delivery of the chorus’ insatiable hook by lead vocalist and guitarist Bec, to the key change that sweeps you off your feet during the song’s closing seconds, ‘Tried To Quit’ is two and a half minutes of non-stop fun.

The band released a few statements on the song’s inception, as well as its deeply relatable meaning.

“We used a lot fuzz and phaser effects on our guitars, distorted the bass with pedals and got the biggest sound we could out of the close-mic’d drums…the final sound is something I’m very proud of,” says Bec.

“Whether (your vice is) a materialistic obsession with clothes, overindulgence in bad food, buying too many pedals or scrolling for cat memes, we’ve tried to quit, we’ve failed, but we keep trying. We can all relate to that.”

To coincide with the release, Rackett have also announced a marathon of tour dates across Australia, kicking off this week.

Catch the full list — and take ‘Tried To Quit’ for a spin — below!

Rackett 2018 Tour Dates

Saturday, 6th October

Crafted Beer & Cider Festival, Broadbeach

Tickets: Facebook

Saturday, 6th October – Sunday, 7th October

Outside Tribe Music Festival, Cornubia

Tickets: Facebook

Friday, 12th October

Molo Live Canberra

Supporting The Superjesus

Tickets: Facebook

Saturday, 13th October

Naraabeen RSL, North Narrabeen

Supporting The Superjesus

Tickets: Facebook

Friday, 19th October

Manning Bar, Sydney

Supporting The Superjesus

Tickets: Facebook

Saturday, 20th October

Tattersalls Hotel, Penrith

Supporting The Superjesus

Tickets: Facebook

Sunday, 21st October

Cambridge Hotel Newcastle

Supporting The Superjesus

Tickets: Facebook

Friday, 26th October

Workers Club, Melbourne

with The Belair Lip Bombs, Fight Ibis, Spiral Perm

Tickets: Facebook

Friday, 26th October – Saturday, 27th October

Kyneton Music Festival Kyneton

Tickets: Facebook

Saturday, 10th November

OzAsia Festival, Adelaide

with The Hormones

Tickets: Facebook

Saturday, 17th November

The Factory Theatre, Sydney

with The Buoys, Fight Ibis, Boydos

Tickets: Facebook

Thursday, 29th November – Friday, 30th November

Jungle Love Festival, Sunshine Coast

Tickets: Facebook

Friday, 30th November

Netherworld, Brisbane

with Fight Ibis

Tickets: FREE ENTRY

Friday, 28th December – Wednesday, 2nd January

Lost Paradise Festival Glenworth, Victoria

Tickets: Facebook

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more