Custom styles

Image for Radiohead’s Thom Yorke Is Releasing New Solo Album ‘ANIMA’ Really Really SoonPhoto: Rich Fury / Getty Images

Radiohead’s Thom Yorke Is Releasing New Solo Album ‘ANIMA’ Really Really Soon

Written by Laura English on June 21, 2019

Radiohead frontman, Thom Yorke is releasing a new album, ANIMA next Thursday, 27th June. The initial release will be digital, with the physical release following Friday, 19th July.

He’s also teamed up with long time pal, Paul Thomas Anderson for a ‘one-reeler’ titled ANIMA too. In a Netflix Teaser, the pair define a ‘one-reeler’ as, “a motion picture, especially a cartoon or comedy, of 10-12 minutes duration and contained on one reel of film; popular especially in the era of silent films”. The musical short film will feature three tracks from Yorke’s new album.

The nine track release will have a bonus track exclusively on vinyl. Last month in an interview, Thom Yorke revealed his new solo album would be centred around dystopia and anxiety.

“For some reason, I thought a really good way of expressing anxiety creatively was in a dystopian environment. I had so many visual things going on at this point. Another one was where everybody was traveling to work but their bodies were telling them that they wouldn’t do it anymore. They were refusing to cooperate, so they were doing these involuntary movements,” he told Crack Magazine.

In the same interview he mentioned Radiohead have been working on some new stuff too. Thom Yorke’s new album is out next Thursday. You can watch the Netflix trailer and peek the tracklisting below.

Thom Yorke ANIMA Tracklisting

Out Thursday, 27th June
Available for pre-order now

1. Traffic
2. Last I Heard (…He Was Circling The Drain)
3. Twist
4. Dawn Chorus
5. I Am A Very Rude Person
6. Not The News
7. The Axe
8. Impossible Knots
9. Runwayaway

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

Ingage unit

Monitoring string

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"

Tracking script