Sufjan Stevens Announces New Album, A Collaboration With His Stepdad

Sufjan Stevens has announced a brand new album, which is a collaboration with his stepfather. The hefty 21-track album is titled Aporia and it’s a quick follow up to last year’s The Decalogue.

Aporia is due out on Friday, 27th March. It’ll be released via Asthmatic Kitty, a label founded by Stevens and his stepfather, Lowell Brams.

They’ve already shared the first single from the album too. ‘The Unlimited’ is an eery, instrumental tune that sounds like it could benefit a horror movie’s score. You can listen to it down below.

The forthcoming album was apparently recorded over a number of years, with Sufjan Stevens saying it came from jamming, “ninety per cent of it is absolutely horrible, but if you’re just lucky enough, ten per cent is magic. I just kept pulling out these little magical moments.”

Stevens has shared the tracklisting for the album along with a 16-track playlist of songs that inspired it. You can catch both down below along with a video for ‘The Unlimited’.

Sufjan Stevens & Lowell Brams’ ‘Aporia’ Tracklisting

01. Ousia

02. What It Takes

03. Disinheritance

04. Agathon

05. Determined Outcome

06. Misology

07. Afterworld Alliance

08. Palinodes

09. Backhanded Cloud

10. Glorious You

11. For Raymond Scott

12. Matronymic

13. The Red Desert

14. Conciliation

15. Ataraxia

16. The Unlimited

17. The Runaround

18. Climb That Mountain

19. Captain Praxis

20. Eudaimonia

21. The Lydian Ring

Songs that inspired Aporia

Must Read