Images: Facebook

Sufjan Stevens, The National’s Bryce Dessner And Nico Muhly Supergroup Unveil New Song ‘Mercury’

Sufjan Stevens recently announced his new musical project; a supergroup containing Stevens, his drummer James McAllister, The National‘s Bryce Dessner and classical music composer Nico Muhly.

They’ll be releasing a solar-system-themed record called Planetarium in June, and now, following the first single ‘Saturn’, they’ve unveiled a haunting new track titled ‘Mercury’.

Featuring Stevens’ powefully emotive vocals and some gorgeously understated instrumentation, it’s another truly side of Sufjan’s musicality.

The unnamed project initially formed in 2013 for a live performance at the Brooklyn Academy of Music, but this forthcoming album represents their first recorded release.

Check out the new track below.

Watch: Sufjan Stevens, The National’s Bryce Dessner, Nico Muhly – ‘Mercury’

Must Read