Custom styles

Image for The Smith Street Band’s Wil Wagner Announces Solo Mixtape

The Smith Street Band’s Wil Wagner Announces Solo Mixtape

Written by Tom Williams on May 26, 2015

Wil Wagner, frontman of Melbourne group The Smith Street Band, has announced a solo cassette mixtape titled, I Hope I Don’t Come Across Intense!. The release will include home demos recorded between 2009 and 2015.

In a Facebook post (below), Wagner says the mixtape was inspired by Ian Graham from Michigan punks Cheap Girls, who asked him to trawl through his recent demos.

“My friend Ian Graham and I drove from Lansing, Michigan to Chicago, Illinois recently and he asked me to go through all my home demos from the last few years and try dig up some that I’d like to release on his brand new label Business Casual,” Wagner says.

“The idea with this tape was to put together something that resembled more of a mix tape that I’d give to someone I had a crush on or a demo tape to hand out at my first shows.

“These are demos recorded to send to lovers, specific people I’d written the songs about or just for myself. There are coughs, forgotten words, bad efforts in guitar tuning and all of the other things you’d expect with a home demo. But these are also songs that probably wouldn’t have seen the light of day otherwise and I am very proud to be able to release!”

I Hope I Don’t Come Across Intense! has already sold out on Poison City Records’ online store, but stock is available to order from the US via the Business Casual store. Poison City Records have said on Facebook that Wagner will have some copies of the cassette with him on his next tour.

As for The Smith Street Band, the troupe are set to play Splendour In The Grass this July, and the I Love Life and Poison City Weekender events in September.

View the I Hope I Don’t Come Across Intense! tracklist and artwork, below.

Watch: The Smith Street Band – Get High, See No One

Hey friends! I am super stoked to announce the impending release of my new solo cassette, I Hope I Don’t Come Across…

Posted by The Smith Street Band on Sunday, 24 May 2015

Wil Wagner – I Hope I Don’t Come Across Intense! Tracklist

Side One:
1. Feel All The Feelings
2. Passion
3. Trying To Light A Candle With A Spark
4. What You Deserve
5. The Way You’re Put Together
6. Dinosaur Bones
7. God/Love

Side Two:
1. My Movements Are A Mystery
2. I Don’t Love You Anymore
3. It
4. Landlord
5. King Of All Things Breakable
6. Goodnight, Paris
7. I Don’t Deserve The Sun

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

Ingage unit

Comments are closed.

Monitoring string

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"

Tracking script