The Vaccines’ New Record ‘The Vaccines Come Of Age’ To Be More Stripped Back

NME has reported that The Vaccines’ Justin Young assures that the band’s upcoming second album The Vaccines Come of Age will be a rawer more stripped-back affair than their 2011 debut What Did You Expect from the Vaccines?.

During an interview with BBC 6 Music, Young said he felt the band shielded themselves behind studio production on The Vaccines’ first LP.

“We hid behind a lot of reverb and walls on the first record. This [new] one’s been stripped back, and you can kind of hear that Freddie can play the guitar and Pete can play the drums, and you can hear the character in my voice,” Young told BBC.

“Even though we feel we’re a great band, I definitely feel like we’re on a journey and we’re not as good as we should be and hopefully one day will be. And it just feels like the next step in that direction,” explained Young.

So far The Vaccines Come of Age, due out in September, has spawned the singles No Hope and more recently Teen Idol, with the band headed our way for Falls Festival 2012/2013.

During a previous interview with NME, Young expressed his interest in keeping The Vaccines evolving while still keeping true to the sound the band established with their first record.

“I don’t think there’s any danger of us making the same record twice. But I think anything people found attractive about us the first time round has been retained. I’m really confident we’ve got the balance right,” said Young.

The Vaccines – The Vaccines Come of Age – Tracklist:

1. No Hope

2. I Always Knew

3. Teenage Icon

4. All In Vain

5. Ghost Town

6. Aftershave Ocean

7. Weirdo

8. Bad Mood

9. Change Of Heart pt.2.

10. I Wish I Was A Girl

11. Lonely World

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more