Image: The Wiggles

The Wiggles Cover Lime Cordiale & Idris Elba’s ‘Apple Crumble’

Floating on a wave of good vibrations following their Hottest 100 triumph, The Wiggles have shared a cover of ‘Apple Crumble’, a collaboration between Sydney band Lime Cordiale and British actor Idris Elba.

“We are still so buzzed about the triple j Hottest 100 – it’s going to take us a while to get over that one!” said Wiggles co-founder and only remaining original Wiggle, Anthony Field. “Earlier last week we headed into the studio to record ‘Apple Crumble’ – a song that also made the Hottest 100, coming in at #14 for Lime Cordiale and Idris Elba.”

‘Apple Crumble’ will feature on The Wiggles’ upcoming double album of covers, titled ReWiggled and due for release on Friday, 11th March.

The album was made in partnership by The OG Wiggles and The Wiggles’ current lineup, along with a bunch of contemporary Australian artists. In addition to ‘Apple Crumble’ and the Hottest 100 winning cover of Tame Impala’s ‘Elephant’, The Wiggles have shared covers of Queen’s ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ and The Chats’ ‘Pub Feed’.

They haven’t signed off on the final ReWiggled track listing, but the following songs are confirmed for the album.

Side one: a tribute to The Wiggles

  • DZ Deathrays – ‘Hot Potato’
  • Spacey Jane – ‘D.O.R.O.T.H.Y (My Favourite Dinosaur)’
  • Stella Donnelly – ‘Ba Ba Da Bicycle Ride’
  • The Chats – ‘Can You (Point Your Fingers and Do the Twist?)’
  • Emily Wurramara – ‘Dressing Up’
  • Polish Club – ‘Apples & Bananas’
  • Donny Benet – ‘Sicily (I Want to Go)’
  • San Cisco – ‘H.O.L.I.D.A.Y.’
  • Custard – ‘Do the Propeller!’
  • Emma Donovan & The Putbacks – ‘Say the Dance, Do the Dance’
  • Dami Im – ‘Big Red Car’
  • Luca Brasi – ‘The Shimmie Shake’
  • Melbourne Ska Orchestra – ‘We’re All Fruit Salad!’

Side two: performed by The Wiggles

  • ‘Elephant’ (original by Tame Impala)
  • ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ (original by Queen)
  • ‘Apple Crumble’ (original by Lime Cordiale and Idris Elba)
  • ‘Thunderstruck’ (original by AC/DC)
  • ‘Pub Feed’ (original by The Chats)
  • ‘Sunday Girl’ (original by Blondie)
  • ‘Get on the Good Foot’ (original by James Brown)
  • ‘Praise You’ (original by Fatboy Slim)
  • ‘Brand New Key’ (original by Melanie)
  • ‘She’s a Rainbow’ (original by The Rolling Stones)
  • ‘Shipping Up to Boston’ (original by Dropkick Murphys)

More songs to be announced for both sides of the album. Listen to ‘Apple Crumble’ below.

Must Read