Tom Morello Announces New Solo Album Packed With Blockbuster Collabs: Wu-Tang, Knife Party, Vic Mensa & More

Guitar god Tom Morello has gone and chucked a Slash/Carlos Santana and recorded a solo guitar album choc-a-block full of superstar vocal collabs.

The Rage Against The Machine, Audioslave and Prophets Of Rage legend’s debut LP is dubbed The Atlas Underground and is slated to hit our eardrums on Friday, 12th October.

It contains 12 monster tracks of guitar wizardry featuring the musical talents of guests such as (are you ready?) *takes a deep breath*:

  • Marcus Mumford
  • Portugal. The Man
  • Bassnectar
  • Tim McIlrath (Rise Against)
  • Wu-Tang Clan’s RZA and GZA
  • Vic Mensa
  • K.Flay
  • Big Boi (OutKast)
  • Gary Clark Jr.
  • Pretty Lights
  • Knife Party
  • Killer Mike
  • Steve Aoki
  • Whethan

And more!

Ever the pioneer, Morello has created this LP in the spirit of blazing a new musical trail, “blending Marshall stack riff-rock with the digital wizardry of EDM and hip-hop”.

“The riffs and the beats led the way, but the extraordinary talents of the collaborators set my creativity into uncharted territory,” explains Morello.

“I’ve been devoted both musically and as an activist to fighting injustice at every turn. Amid this heightened sense of impending doom, it’s now time to rally the troops in a last-ditch effort to save the planet, and our artistic souls. By challenging the boundaries of what music is and has sounded like before, you can open peoples’ eyes to changing the status quo in society.”

You can hear two songs off his multi-studio, continent-spanning full-length The Atlas Underground — ‘We Don’t Need You’ ft. Vic Mensa & ‘Battle Sirens’ ft. Australia’s own Knife Party (originally released in 2016) — alongside the full track list, artwork and album teaser — below, and pre-order the disc here for your chance to win an Epiphone Les Paul Studio LT Electric Guitar signed by Morello himself.

This could be a damn gamechanger, people.

Tom Morello – The Atlas Underground Official Track List

01. ‘Battle Sirens’ – Tom Morello ft. Knife Party

02. ‘Rabbit’s Revenge’ – Tom Morello ft. Bassnectar, Big Boi, and Killer Mike

03. ‘Every Step That I Take’ – Tom Morello ft. Portugal. The Man and Whethan

04. ‘We Don’t Need You’ – Tom Morello ft. Vic Mensa

05. ‘Find Another Way’ – Tom Morello ft. Marcus Mumford

06. ‘How Long’ – Tom Morello ft. Steve Aoki and Tim McIlrath (Rise Against)

07. ‘Lucky One’ – Tom Morello ft. K.Flay

08. ‘One Nation’ – Tom Morello ft. Pretty Lights

09. ‘Vigilante Nocturno’ – Tom Morello ft. Carl Restivo

10. ‘Where It’s At Ain’t What It Is’ – Tom Morello ft. Gary Clark Jr. and Nico Stadi

11. ‘Roadrunner’ – Tom Morello ft. Leikeli47

12. ‘Lead Poisoning’ – Tom Morello ft. GZA, RZA, and Herobust

Must Read