News

Violent Soho Will Be “Hell Fuck Yeah”-less In US Market

No doubt a significant part of what saw Covered in Chrome propel Violent Soho into the stratosphere since the single first arrested our aural senses last year was its irresistible “Hell fuck yeah!” refrain. It’s questionable whether the track will have the same impact on US listeners.

“It’s hilarious how much impact you lose when you take all the fucks out because Covered in Chrome is a three-chord pop song which sounds so good with fuck in it,” frontman Luke Boerdam told the Herald Sun about having to record a swear-free radio edit of Chrome for release in the US.

Boerdam joked that having to re-record the track with the cusses omitted is most likely his fault for not being a more adequate lyricist and songwriter. “I am a horrible songwriter,” he told the paper. “What is my problem that I can’t think of better words? I really have to work on my vocabulary.”

In the same interview, Boerdam discusses Soho’s current tour, which kicked off in Perth earlier this week, and which saw 14 dates sell out. “We were pretty blown away when I rang to find out how ticket sales went on the first day and Melbourne had sold out by 9.15am and we were already putting a second show on,” said the frontman. “We just didn’t know there would be that response.”

Watch: Violent Soho – Covered in Chrome

Gallery: Groovin The Moo 2014 – Maitland, New South Wales 26/04/14

Photos by Jack Cowling

Violent Soho National Tour Dates

w/The Smith Street Band

Wednesday, 2nd July — SOLD OUT

The Bakery, Perth (18+)

Thursday, 3rd July — SOLD OUT

The Bakery, Perth (18+)

Friday, 4th July — SOLD OUT

The Gov, Adelaide (Lic AA)

Saturday, 5th July — SOLD OUT

The Hi-Fi, Melbourne (18+)

Sunday, 6th July — SOLD OUT

The Hi-Fi, Melbourne (18+)

Tuesday, 8th July — SOLD OUT

Manning Bar, Sydney (18+)*

Thursday, 10th July — SOLD OUT

Manning Bar, Sydney (18+)

Friday, 11th July — SOLD OUT

Manning Bar, Sydney (18+)

Saturday, 12th July — SOLD OUT

The Hi-Fi, Brisbane (18+)

Sunday, 13th July — SOLD OUT

The Hi-Fi, Brisbane (18+)

Wednesday, 16th July — SOLD OUT

The Gov, Adelaide (18+)*

w/Luca Brasi

Thursday, 17th July — SOLD OUT

The Hi-Fi, Melbourne (18+)

w/Luca Brasi

Friday, 18th July — SOLD OUT

The Hi-Fi, Melbourne (18+)*

w/Luca Brasi

Saturday, 19th July — SOLD OUT

The Hi-Fi, Brisbane (18+)*

w/Luca Brasi

*The Smith Street Band not appearing.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more