WAAX Shares Video For New Single ‘Read Receipts’

WAAX has shared the vividly charged new single, ‘Read Receipts’. It comes from the band’s highly anticipated second studio album, At Least I’m Free, which is out on Friday, 5th August via Dew Process.

On ‘Read Receipts’, lead vocalist Maz DeVita sings of anger, abandonment and disappointment. DeVita explains:

“We’re pretty excited to let this one out as it’s perhaps our best songwriting effort in our opinion (and Bernard’s). This one came together super fast. James and I were writing together on the Sunshine Coast and immediately the melody and lyric fell out. It’s literally about being left on read and being left in the cold with no answers. I was definitely feeling those feels at the time,”

Reunited with director Phoebe Faye (‘Dangerous’ and ‘Help Me Hell’), the powerful official video captures a fierce and awe-inspiring performance from DeVita, who channels the energy, rage and emotion of the song.

“The video was a huge step for me as I had never really acted as a character in anything before, I was totally outside of my comfort zone,” says DeVita. “It’s like a mafia inspired moment where I play the boss or ‘the Donna’ and I’m doing a deal with this nondescript man with a helmet. Most people know I love to do things that relate to my Italian heritage so it was super fun to explore this concept. Phoebe and her team really helped us create an epic vibe – especially the car scenes! Super slick and a fun and different vibe for us,”

On At Least I’m Free, WAAX teamed up with the production team behind their debut album, Big Grief – Bernard Fanning (Powderfinger) and Grammy Award-Winner Nick DiDia (Bruce Springsteen). In addition to ‘Read Receipts’, the album features the QMA Award-winning single ‘Most Hated Girl’, ‘Help Me Hell’, and the Linda Perry co-write ‘Dangerous’. The band’s second LP also features a collaboration with US alt-hip hop star K.Flay on the standout ‘No Doz’.

The four-piece has announced an exclusive solid 925 sterling silver pendant individually carved with the WAAX logo, designed in collaboration between DeVita and Onyx Handmade. The textural surface is unique to each pendant, as these are each made by hand. No moulds or mass production. The pendants are available to pre-order for one week only from the band’s website. Pendant orders will also come with a download of the album, as well as handwritten lyrics to ‘Read Receipts’.

The new music follows on from WAAX’s sold-out national ‘Dangerous’ tour, where they teased new music and celebrated their discography to date. The Meanjin based four-piece will be back on the road in July accompanying The Amity Affliction for shows in Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, and Perth.

WAAX – At Least I’m Free

  1. ‘Mermaid Beach’
  2. ‘Read Receipts’
  3. ‘A Man Like Me’
  4. ‘No Doz’
  5. ‘Most Hated Girl’
  6. ‘Beam Me Up’
  7. Dangerous’
  8. ‘Jeff On The Streets’
  9. ‘Help Me Hell’
  10. ‘Same Bitch’
  11. ‘Whoever’

WAAX Tour Dates

Supporting The Amity Affliction

  • Tuesday 12 July – Forum Theatre, Melbourne VIC
  • Wednesday 13 July – Forum Theatre, Melbourne VIC
  • Thursday 14 July – The Roundhouse UNSW, Sydney NSW
  • Friday 15 July – The Roundhouse UNSW, Sydney NSW
  • Friday 22 July – Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide SA
  • Saturday 23 July – Metro City, Perth WA

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more