The Wombats Announce New Album, Drop Fresh Single ‘Lemon To A Knife Fight’

English indie-rockers The Wombats have announced that their fourth studio album, Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life, is set for release on 9th February 2018, and to celebrate they’ve dropped a brand new single.

‘Lemon To A Knife Fight’, as frontman Matthew ‘Murph’ Murphy explains, came to life after he and his wife “had a huge argument on [Los Angeles’] Mulholland Drive”.

“I’d been watching tons of David Lynch too, the song just kind of fell out of me,” he says.

The song, like the rest of Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life, was written from three corners of the globe, with drummer Dan Haggis in London, bassist Tord Øverland Knudsen in Oslo and Murph in LA.

“I wanted to make an album that had more swagger, was a bit more laid back, something that wasn’t punching you in the face every time you listen to it,” Murph says. “On every level, musically and interpersonally, we’re much closer.

“The last album was about me meeting someone and my life going upside down in Los Angeles, partying too hard and getting myself in trouble. This album is about me battling against that, trying to live an adult life. And failing.”

Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life will be the follow-up to 2015’s Glitterbug, and is available to pre-order here.

Stream ‘Lemon To A Knife Fight’, below.

‘Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life’ Track Listing

1. Cheetah Tongue
2. Lemon to a Knife Fight
3. Turn
4. Black Flamingo
5. White Eyes
6. Lethal Combination
7. Out Of My Head
8. I Only Wear Black
9. Ice Cream
10. Dip You In Honey
11. I Don’t Know Why I Like You But I Do

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more