Image for Gang Of Youths & Amy Shark Lead 2018 Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition FinalistsImages: Supplied / Facebook / Maria Boyagdis

Gang Of Youths & Amy Shark Lead 2018 Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition Finalists

Written by Jackson Langford on April 19, 2018

Gang of Youths and Amy Shark lead the 40 nominated songs for the 2018 Vanda & Young Songwriting Competiton, with a $50,000 cash prize up for grabs for the winner.

Out of the 40 songs, Gang of Youths scored an impressive four nominations, while Amy Shark, Alice Ivy, Gordi and Georgi Kay all scored two nominations.

Among the impressive list of the 33 nominated artists are newcomers like G Flip, Mallrat and Angie McMahon, just to name a few.

It’s also worth noting that 25 of these artists are receiving their first ever nominations for this prestigious award, and 22 of them are female or female-fronted.

Some of the judges include former Silverchair frontman Daniel Johns, KLP and Montaigne, as well as representatives from major music media outlets all across the world.

$50,000 will go to the winner, with second place receiving $10,000 and third place receiving $5,000. The winners will be announced in May. See the full list of finalists below.


Abbey Gardner – Weight Of Feeling

Adam Eckersley & Brooke McClymont – Train Wreck

Ainslie Wills – Running Second

Alex Lahey – I Love You Like A Brother

Alfie Arcuri – Same

Alice Ivy – Get Me A Drink

Alice Ivy – Chasing Stars

Amy Shark – Weekends

Amy Shark – Adore

Angie McMahon – Slow Mover

Asha Jefferies – Chaos

Bri Clark – Giving Up

Cookin’ On 3 Burners – Real Life Baby

CXLOE – Monster

Dean Lewis – Be Alright

Florian – Star Crossed Lover

G Flip – About You

Gang of Youths – Do Not Let Your Spirit Wane

Gang of Youths – Let Me Down Easy

Gang of Youths – The Heart Is A Muscle

Gang of Youths – What Can I Do If The Fire Goes Out?

Georgi Kay – Guilty Pleasures

Georgi Kay – Special

Gordi – Heaven I Know

Gordi – On My Side

Hatchie – Sure

Holly Arrowsmith – Love Together

Holy Holy – True Lovers

Dennis Dowlut and Maxwell Bidstrup – Paper Planes

Jack Carty – Hospital Hill

King IV – Bump

Mallrat – Better

Maya Jupiter – Inshallah

Middle Kids – Mistake

Oh Pep! – Parallel

Ruby Fields – I Want

Ruel – Don’t Tell Me

Tia Gostelow – That’s What You Get

Tim Hansen – Don’t Be A Dick

Timothy Bowen – Anchor

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"