Image for The National Reissue 2004 Cherry Tree EP

The National Reissue 2004 Cherry Tree EP

Written by Barnaby Smith on May 2, 2011

The reissuing of bits and pieces from Brooklyn indie gents The National‘s back catalogue continues with the news that their 2004 EP Cherry Tree will come out on June 28.

Consequence of Sound reports on the impending release, which comes after the 2010 re-release of the band’s first two albums, their 2001 eponymous debut and 2003’s Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers.

Cherry Tree came out in July 2004 and features seven tracks including Reasonable Man (I Don’t Mind), which enjoys contributions from Padma Newsome of Clogs. There is also a live version of Murder Me Rachael.

The reissue is limited to just 3000 copies, 500 of which will be pressed on special red vinyl (the other 2500 being on regular old run-of-the-mill black vinyl).

As with The National’s previous reissues, the imprint behind it all is Brassland. Cherry Tree is exclusively available through the Brassland website, as are the other albums.

And there is yet more. This latest reissue includes the third part of the poster, a nifty tryptych that had its first two parts included with the reissues of their first two albums.

Brassland are also reportedly putting together a box set including the reissues of Cherry Red and those two albums, though nothing is confirmed as yet.

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"